This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Java applets not working properly with Konqueror 4.2.00

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
blackhole
Registered Member
Posts
74
Karma
0
OS
Hi there,

I'm using Arch Linux with KDE 4.2 and I've just installed the Sun JRE/JDK on my machine which worked fine:
Code: Select all
schorsch@archie:~$ java -version
java version "1.6.0_11"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_11-b03)
Java HotSpot(TM) Server VM (build 11.0-b16, mixed mode)
schorsch@archie:~$


In Firefox all Java Applets are working beautifully. However the same applets are not working properly in Konqueror. On some applets buttons are not displayed or icons are missing or the applet just doesn't react on user input. Some applets are not even loaded, all I get is a big grey rectangle on the website. Like said: All those applets work fine in Firefox.

When I go to this website for example:
http://www.ast-horb.ba-stuttgart.de/762.html

I get with Konqueror:
Image

And with Firefox:
Image

Where did all the icons go???!!!

What's wrong here? It's the same Jre, so why is it acting differently in the two browsers?
Here are two other random applets, that don't work properly with Konqueror but with Firefox they do:

http://www.schubart.net/rc/
(Buttons at the bottom are sometimes missing and moving cube doesn't work at all)

http://www.arndt-bruenner.de/mathe/java/plotter3d.htm
(Applet doesn't plot any functions when you click on the "plot" button)

These are only a few examples. It's really annoying. A statistics applet on my university education platform is not even loaded by Konqueror, but works fine in Firefox. :(

The Konqueror Java Console doesn't help me either, because most of the time it's empty. So it shouldn't be the applets' problem.

I haven't come across a single applet that works properly in Konqueror. I really wanna use Konqueror though. Please help.

TIA,
Blackhole

Last edited by blackhole on Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
anda_skoa
KDE Developer
Posts
783
Karma
4
OS
The main difference between Firefox and Konqueror in terms of Java is that Firefox (at least to my knowledge) uses the Java Plugin while Konqueror uses the real Java runtime (exectuable "java") and embeds the applet window.

You can probably get a better output on the Java console if you set
Code: Select all
-Dkjas.debug

as additional Java parameters (at least that worked in KDE3.5)

Cheers,
_


anda_skoa, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
blackhole
Registered Member
Posts
74
Karma
0
OS
anda_skoa wrote:The main difference between Firefox and Konqueror in terms of Java is that Firefox (at least to my knowledge) uses the Java Plugin while Konqueror uses the real Java runtime (exectuable "java") and embeds the applet window.


But does that make a difference? Isn't the plugin using the jre as well? I don't really understand that. At the end of the day, it's all AWT-components, right? So why should buttons disappear in one case, but not in the other???!!!

Are you using Konqueror? Have you ever experienced major problems with applets?

anda_skoa wrote:You can probably get a better output on the Java console if you set
Code: Select all
-Dkjas.debug

as additional Java parameters (at least that worked in KDE3.5)


I'll try that. Thanks for the tipp.

Last edited by blackhole on Wed Feb 18, 2009 9:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
anda_skoa
KDE Developer
Posts
783
Karma
4
OS
blackhole wrote:
anda_skoa wrote:The main difference between Firefox and Konqueror in terms of Java is that Firefox (at least to my knowledge) uses the Java Plugin while Konqueror uses the real Java runtime (exectuable "java") and embeds the applet window.


But does that make a difference?
[/Quote]
I am not saying that this would make a difference for the Applet, just relaying about the differences between the two approaches.

blackhole wrote:Isn't the plugin using the jre as well?

True, but the applet might use parts of the Applet API which "talks" to the browser, or probably rely on certain aspects of being run as part of the browser rather than a separate process.

blackhole wrote:Are you using Konqueror? Have you ever experienced major problems with applets?

You first link doesn't work for me either, i.e. no icons. Would be interesting to know if it gets the icons from its on source(s) or somehow has the browser load them (e.g. "standard icons")

The other two seem work to work flawlessly, including sound in the Cube applet.

[code]
java version "1.6.0_0"
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_0-b11)
OpenJDK Client VM (build 1.6.0_0-b11, mixed mode, sharing)

Konqueror from KDE 3.5.10

Cheers,
_


anda_skoa, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
blackhole
Registered Member
Posts
74
Karma
0
OS
Hm... the cube is still missbehaving, but the plotting works now. I wonder whether my jre is somehow freezing at some point. :'(

The icons in the raytracer applet are not standard icons, but manually loaded via "Image img = this.getImage(getCodeBase(), "./img/"+name);" within the applet class. I don't know why they are not shown in Konqueror. :-(

// Edit: Oh, btw, do I still have to manually put the JSSE files cert.jar, jnet.jar and jsse.jar in the kjava directory in order to enable applets via https connections? (see http://www.konqueror.org/javahowto/).

Because on the Sun website it says:
Code: Select all
The Java Secure Socket Extension (JSSE) 1.0.3_xx has completed the Sun End of Life (EOL) process, in alignment with J2SE 1.3.1's EOL process.
 JSSE 1.0.3_xx is an optional package for use with J2SE 1.3.1. JSSE is included and supported as part of J2SE 1.4.x and later. With this notice, customers are strongly encouraged to migrate to the current release.


Did you do that on your system or did it all come with the JRE? Have you ever (successfully) used applets via https?

Last edited by blackhole on Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
anda_skoa
KDE Developer
Posts
783
Karma
4
OS
blackhole wrote:The icons in the raytracer applet are not standard icons, but manually loaded via "Image img = this.getImage(getCodeBase(), "./img/"+name);" within the applet class. I don't know why they are not shown in Konqueror. :-(

No idea either, sorry.

Would be interesting to know if this still happens with a recent version of Konqueror.

blackhole wrote:Did you do that on your system or did it all come with the JRE? Have you ever (successfully) used applets via https?

I don't remember ever using an applet via HTTPS.
I guess if Java handles this differently now, so might Konqueror's Java Applet Container.

Cheers,
_


anda_skoa, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar
KejPi
Registered Member
Posts
119
Karma
0
OS
Hi there,

I have found this thread. Is there any progress in making java working in Konqeror KDE4? I am using KDE 4.2.2 on amd64 platform and java applets are not working correctly in Konqueror :-(

This page http://java.com/en/download/help/testvm.xml is working nice in Firefox and it is not working in Konqueror. There are some timeouts in java console. The only thing I understand from the log is that Konqueror can see Java correctly but it is not working. I would need java for internet banking :-(

Any hint or comment is more than welcome!

Regards,
Petr

Code: Select all
Java VM version: 1.6.0_13
Java VM vendor:  Sun Microsystems Inc.
KJAS: SecurityManager=org.kde.kjas.server.KJASSecurityManager@67ecd78
Java VM: Sun Microsystems Inc. 1.6.0_13
SecurityManager=org.kde.kjas.server.KJASSecurityManager@67ecd78
----------------------------------------------------
Konqueror Java Console Help
  c: clear console
  g: run garbage collection
  h: show help
  m: show memory info
  s: print system properties
  t: list threads
  x: empty classloader cache
----------------------------------------------------
KJAS: PH: cmd_length = 3
KJAS: PH: read in 3 bytes for command
KJAS: createContext, id = 0
KJAS: PH: cmd_length = 337
KJAS: PH: read in 337 bytes for command
KJAS: createApplet, context = 0, applet = 1
KJAS:               name = testvmDynamicJavaComPopUp819.class, classname = testvmDynamicJavaComPopUp819.class
KJAS:               baseURL = http://java.com/en/download/help/, codeBase = http://java.com/applet
KJAS:               archives = null, width = 390, height = 300
KJAS: KIO createURLStreamHandler http
KJAS: CL: getLoader: key = http://java.com/applet/
KJAS: org.kde.kjas.server.KJASAppletClassLoader@6037fb1e add URL: http://java.com/applet/
KJAS: org.kde.kjas.server.KJASAppletClassLoader@6037fb1e add URL: http://java.com/en/download/help/
KJAS: KIO KJASHttpURLConnection.connect http://java.com/applet/testvmDynamicJavaComPopUp819.class
KJAS: KIO connect http://java.com/applet/testvmDynamicJavaComPopUp819.class
KJAS: sendGetURLCmd(0) url = http://java.com/applet/testvmDynamicJavaComPopUp819.class
KJAS: PH: cmd_length = 239
KJAS: PH: read in 239 bytes for command
KJAS: KIO URLData received(0) code:3
KJAS: KIO responsecode=200
KJAS: PH: cmd_length = 16
KJAS: PH: read in 16 bytes for command
KJAS: KIO URLData received(0) code:0
KJAS: KIO connect(0) http://java.com/applet/testvmDynamicJavaComPopUp819.class
KJAS: KIO getInputStream(0) http://java.com/applet/testvmDynamicJavaComPopUp819.class
KJAS: PH: cmd_length = 2645
KJAS: PH: read in 2645 bytes for command
KJAS: KIO URLData received(0) code:0
KJAS: PH: cmd_length = 1453
KJAS: PH: read in 1453 bytes for command
KJAS: KIO URLData received(0) code:0
KJAS: PH: cmd_length = 1453
KJAS: PH: read in 1453 bytes for command
KJAS: KIO URLData received(0) code:0
KJAS: PH: cmd_length = 1453
KJAS: PH: read in 1453 bytes for command
KJAS: KIO URLData received(0) code:0
KJAS: PH: cmd_length = 2901
KJAS: PH: read in 2901 bytes for command
KJAS: KIO URLData received(0) code:0
KJAS: KIO getInputStream(0) http://java.com/applet/testvmDynamicJavaComPopUp819.class
KJAS: KIO getHeaderField:content-length=12828
KJAS: PH: cmd_length = 1453
KJAS: PH: read in 1453 bytes for command
KJAS: KIO URLData received(0) code:0
KJAS: PH: cmd_length = 1494
KJAS: PH: read in 1494 bytes for command
KJAS: KIO URLData received(0) code:0
KJAS: KIO disconnect 0
KJAS: sendDataCmd(0) command = 0
KJAS: CL-1(http://java.com/applet/):  getPermissions((http://java.com/applet/ ))
KJAS: org.kde.kjas.server.KJASAppletClassLoader@6037fb1e Permission: (java.net.SocketPermission java.com connect,accept,resolve)
KJAS: sendAppletStateNotification, contextID = 0, appletID = 1, state=1
KJAS: KIO KJASHttpURLConnection.connect http://java.com/applet/testvmDynamicJavaComPopUp819$1.class
KJAS: KIO connect http://java.com/applet/testvmDynamicJavaComPopUp819$1.class
KJAS: sendGetURLCmd(1) url = http://java.com/applet/testvmDynamicJavaComPopUp819$1.class
KJAS: KIO connect timeout http://java.com/applet/testvmDynamicJavaComPopUp819$1.class
KJAS: KIO KJASHttpURLConnection.connect http://java.com/en/download/help/testvmDynamicJavaComPopUp819$1.class
KJAS: KIO connect http://java.com/en/download/help/testvmDynamicJavaComPopUp819$1.class
KJAS: sendGetURLCmd(2) url = http://java.com/en/download/help/testvmDynamicJavaComPopUp819$1.class
KJAS: KIO connect timeout http://java.com/en/download/help/testvmDynamicJavaComPopUp819$1.class
KJAS: findClass testvmDynamicJavaComPopUp819$1 testvmDynamicJavaComPopUp819$1
KJAS: sendAppletFailed, contextID = 0, appletID = 1, errorMessage=java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: testvmDynamicJavaComPopUp819$1
KJAS: PH: cmd_length = 236
KJAS: PH: read in 236 bytes for command
KJAS: KIO URLData received(1) code:3
KJAS: KIO KJASHttpURLConnection gone (timedout/closed)
KJAS: PH: cmd_length = 19
KJAS: PH: read in 19 bytes for command
KJAS: KIO URLData received(1) code:0
KJAS: KIO KJASHttpURLConnection gone (timedout/closed)
KJAS: PH: cmd_length = 564
KJAS: PH: read in 564 bytes for command
KJAS: KIO URLData received(1) code:0
KJAS: KIO KJASHttpURLConnection gone (timedout/closed)
KJAS: PH: cmd_length = 5
KJAS: PH: read in 5 bytes for command
KJAS: KIO URLData received(1) code:1
KJAS: KIO KJASHttpURLConnection gone (timedout/closed)
KJAS: PH: cmd_length = 2
KJAS: PH: read in 2 bytes for command


KejPi, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], daret, Google [Bot], sandyvee, Sogou [Bot]