This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Enabling Graphics performance in my KDE machine !!

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
shishirchulliyil
Registered Member
Hello friends, i am new to KDE and quite facing trouble initializing Graphics in my KDE Linux machine.
I have Nvidia GeForce Graphics card and can't figure how to install its drivers to enable best Graphics performance.
Also every time i logout and login my Wallpaper goes off and black screen appears.
Can anybody help me out...wud really appreciate your help... :)
yurchor
Registered Member
OS
It is hard to help you with the above mentioned data.

Please tell what is your distribution, KDE version, the model of NVidia card and the driver for this card that is installed in your system.
shishirchulliyil
Registered Member
yea..why not..
Its Linux Backtrack 5 R3 - KDE version 4 or lesser
Nvidia Geforce GT 630 M
yurchor
Registered Member
OS
You did not tell anything about already installed drivers. Well... if you do not mind about security in security-focused distribution you can install latest official NVidia proprietary drivers for the best 3D performance.

1) Download Newest Nvidia drivers from here

2) Open module blacklist as admin

Code: Select all
kdesudo kwrite /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf

Add these lines and save:
blacklist vga16fb
blacklist nouveau
blacklist rivafb
blacklist nvidiafb
blacklist rivatv

3) Uninstall any previously installed NVidia drivers:

sudo apt-get --purge remove nvidia-*

4) Update initramfs:

sudo update-initramfs -u

5) Reboot your computer

6) When an error message pops up saying that Ubuntu cannot load Nvidia drivers, choose Exit to terminal (Exit to console)

7) Login and cd to the directory where you saved your file

8 ) Install drivers

sudo sh NVIDIA-Linux-<Tab>

9) Start KDM

sudo service kdm start

Do anything at your own risk. I have neither Ubuntu 10.04 (your distro is based on this version) nor GT 630M to test.