This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Kmix: Mute (MASTER,PCM,HPHONES) but Unmute(MASTER ONLY)

Tags: kmix, mute, alsa kmix, mute, alsa kmix, mute, alsa
(comma "," separated)
tsp84
Registered Member
I have tried searching to no avail, when I use my laptop volume keys to mute, Kmix mutes MASTER, PCM and HEADPHONES. Yet when unmuting it only affects MASTER leaving me to manually go into mixer and unmute other 2, or making global shortcuts to unmute each separately (CTRL+mute for PCM, ALT+mute for HEADPHONES) this works but is annoying, also muting only PCM or HPHONES mutes all 3.

I have stumbled upon alsamixer (terminal) which when muting, mutes all 3. Than when unmuting, unmutes all 3 as well.

I am a newbie to linux and kde, is there a way to have Kmix use the alsamixer muting/unmuting method when using volume keys? I hope I am explaining correctly.

Any ideas would be most welcome. Thanks!
Mamarok
Manager
OS
Could you please also specify which exact version of KDE you are using as well as the distribution?

Running Kubuntu 22.10 with Plasma 5.26.3, Frameworks 5.100.0, Qt 5.15.6, kernel 5.19.0-23 on Ryzen 5 4600H, AMD Renoir, X11
FWIW: it's always useful to state the exact Plasma version (+ distribution) when asking questions, makes it easier to help ...
tsp84
Registered Member
kded4 --version
RETURNS:
Qt: 4.8.2
KDE Development Platform: 4.8.4 (4.8.4)
KDE Daemon: $Id$

Kali 1.0.8 64 bit

HDA Intel (92HD71B7X Analog)
Mamarok
Manager
OS
Right, that is rather outdated, though, current KDE release is 4.13.3, 4.8.x was several years ago, I strongly suggest you upgrade your system.

Funny, never heard of a distribution called Kali, but from their boosting website ("most advanced") I would assume they can provide some more recent KDE packages...

Running Kubuntu 22.10 with Plasma 5.26.3, Frameworks 5.100.0, Qt 5.15.6, kernel 5.19.0-23 on Ryzen 5 4600H, AMD Renoir, X11