This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Sound System:

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
LongDriver01
Registered Member
OS

Sound System:

Thu Aug 27, 2009 8:11 am
I am new to using PCLinuxOS, I have learned that when I log on as ROOT I have sound in any and all media players. However, when I log on as user I have absolutely no sound in any of the media players, not even the log on sounds.
Can you tell me why this is happening?
Mamarok
Manager
OS

Re: Sound System:

Thu Aug 27, 2009 8:32 am
Well, first of all, you are not supposed to login as root, ever. It is the most insecure way to run a system and one can easily destroy the system with a simple "delete" on a system file or folder. Even the most advance user never logs in as root, that is very bad practice.

When it comes to sound in PCLinuxOS, you might first give us a bit more details of which KDE version you are talking about (I never used PCLinuxOS).

Then checking the basics like Kmix and if you have nothing muted there, what sound backend you use, etc. might be very helpful, too. Kmix settings can be accessed with a right click on the speaker icon in the system tray part of the panel.

FWIW, KDE runs best with the phonon-xine backend, and none of the applications of KDE needs pulseaudio, hence you should avid it as it causes many problems with phonon. To check the phonon settings, open the System Settings in the main menu and go to the Multimedia section. Check both tabs there.

Running Kubuntu 22.10 with Plasma 5.26.3, Frameworks 5.100.0, Qt 5.15.6, kernel 5.19.0-23 on Ryzen 5 4600H, AMD Renoir, X11
FWIW: it's always useful to state the exact Plasma version (+ distribution) when asking questions, makes it easier to help ...
LongDriver01
Registered Member
OS

Thu Aug 27, 2009 8:43 pm