This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

KDE removed sound card drivers - HELP!!!

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
SleepyD
Registered Member
OS
Hi.

I am a complete newbie using openSuSE 11.2 with KDE 4-series os.

Everything was working excellently up until a few weeks ago when (and I honestly cannot remember what caused it now) the sound stopped.

As per gOOgler, I received system tray messages stating that Intel Conextant was not working and it was defaulting to a "default?" sound driver.

I have tried to get it started using the YaST->sound sound configuration tool and found that if I added a new Intel ICH9 (HDA) sound card and select quick setup, then, after closing the running kmix, I get a message first saying that KDE has found removed drivers and prompts me to confirm deleting said drivers - to which I say no - and then a system tray message informs me that Intel Conextant has just come on line and will be used being the driver with highest priority (or words to that effect :) ).

I do get sound from that point, although only from Firefox webpages, but not from any of my sound packages including cinelerra.

I do know that this must point to a settings problem, but I have no idea how to even start looking for the files responsible, much less to rectify the problem for full functionality.

I am therefore asking for help.

I really prefer using Linux, but until now, have never had to delve into the subsystem before so please guide me through this and show me know what to do.

Gratefully yours

SleepyD
TheBlackCat
Registered Member
OS