This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Total noob sound driver issue (static noise)

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
sebas_nl
Registered Member
OS
Hi everyone.

My first intro to linux was a live cd of Sabayon Linux a couple of years ago.
Really buggy stuff, and lots of software I needed wouldn't run in Wine, but it was a preconfigured complete noobfriendly distro.

Yesterday I figured I'd go see how Linux has come along and installed Kubuntu 10.10.
Everything works (after a corrupted install due to a file error on the cd which was made at full speed) now, except for the sound.
I'm getting static, and lots of it. If I set the volume of the onboard analog sound to about 50% it's tolerable (just). The sound works, but the static is still there, and when I want to listen to some music or watch a tutorial on Youtube I have to crank up the volume (and thus static) to hear anything.

I've been searching on teh interwebz, but can't even figure out where I can find which sound driver is installed, and how I change it or the config for it.

Could anyone point me in the right direction to get the sound back to the clear quality I was used to on Window$ 7?
(and/or what info you need to point me in the right direction)
bcooksley
Administrator
OS
Firstly, try muting the Microphone. Second, examine the output of "lspci", and find something similar to the following:
Code: Select all
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio (rev 06)

Try performing a Google search with the device name from that string and the term "ALSA". Example: "ALSA Intel Corporation 5 series/3400 audio rev 06"

KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
sebas_nl
Registered Member
OS
Okay, I've muted every channel one by one (after I removed the PulseAudio server) in ALSAMixerGUI.
This had no effect, other than with the master channel and the front analog channel.