This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Unable to build from source

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
doranwen
Registered Member
Posts
8
Karma
0

Unable to build from source

Sun Sep 22, 2019 10:06 pm
I'm running Linux Mint 18.1 Mate 64-bit (but I do use a couple other KDE apps such as Konversation there, so I've already got lots of KDE libraries installed) and I wanted a collection app that could retrieve data from IMDB and launch the video files from within the app. Tellico fit the bill - except that the IMDB part of it wasn't working for the version available for my OS version (2.3.9). A quick search revealed that I needed a later version which fixed that issue, but as I am nowhere ready to upgrade (I'm using a LTS release with several years left of support and upgrading is a long process for my system with some of the programs I use), I couldn't go that route. Since there was no appimage for Tellico, I figured I'd try compiling it, something I've never done before.

I manage to figure out installing the necessary components (including enabling the source code repositories), but once I'd done all that and ran the following command per the compiling instructions:
Code: Select all
cmake .. -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=`kde4-config --prefix`

I got this error:
Code: Select all
CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:10 (find_package):
  Could not find a configuration file for package "ECM" that is compatible
  with requested version "5.19".

  The following configuration files were considered but not accepted:

    /usr/share/ECM/cmake/ECMConfig.cmake, version: 5.18.0

-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!


Any idea how to solve this? Nothing I've searched online has had any help - I found one other comment on a blog with this error - and no solution. As I've never programmed anything (besides some basic SQL for a database), I'm quite new at all of this and have no idea how to solve this issue of versions.

I do have Virtualbox, so if the solution turns out to be "build an appimage inside a later version of Mint that has the correct version of CMake for this", I could do that - but honestly, that seems like way more trouble than it's worth at this point - I'd rather try to make it work in my current system if possible.
doranwen
Registered Member
Posts
8
Karma
0

Re: Unable to build from source

Tue Sep 24, 2019 4:02 am
I installed the extra-cmake-modules from the kubuntu backports (but I went the .deb from pkgs.org route, I was leery of updating ALL my KDE libraries unless I had to, and I can always uninstall it and do that later if need be). That cleared up the version error, but now I've gotten a bunch more errors, mostly libraries I need to install. I managed to get nearly all of them installed, but I'm stuck at this one:

Code: Select all
CMake Warning at CMakeLists.txt:120 (find_package):
  By not providing "FindKF5Cddb.cmake" in CMAKE_MODULE_PATH this project has
  asked CMake to find a package configuration file provided by "KF5Cddb", but
  CMake did not find one.

  Could not find a package configuration file provided by "KF5Cddb" with any
  of the following names:

    KF5CddbConfig.cmake
    kf5cddb-config.cmake

  Add the installation prefix of "KF5Cddb" to CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH or set
  "KF5Cddb_DIR" to a directory containing one of the above files.  If
  "KF5Cddb" provides a separate development package or SDK, be sure it has
  been installed.


From what I can tell, that package didn't exist until Ubuntu 18.04, but I need it for 16.04 Xenial (which corresponds to Mint 18.x). All my searches for a PPA with it, any version of it anywhere, etc., have failed. Given that it's looking specifically for "libkf5cddb-dev", but my repositories only have "libkcddb-dev", I'm at something of an impasse.

It also threw out a dozen errors like this:
Code: Select all
CMake Error: Attempt to add a custom rule to output "/home/**username**/Programs/tellico-3.2.1/tellico-3.2.1/build/po/et/docs/tellico/index.cache.bz2.rule" which already has a custom rule.
CMake Error at /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/cmake/KF5DocTools/KF5DocToolsMacros.cmake:143 (add_custom_target):
  add_custom_target cannot create target "po-et-docs-tellico-index-cache-bz2"
  because another target with the same name already exists.  The existing
  target is a custom target created in source directory
  "/home/**username**/Programs/tellico-3.2.1/tellico-3.2.1".  See documentation
  for policy CMP0002 for more details.
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/cmake/KF5DocTools/KF5DocToolsMacros.cmake:231 (kdoctools_create_handbook)
  CMakeLists.txt:276 (kdoctools_install)


I would greatly appreciate any help anyone can give me. It's very frustrating to want to use this functionality on my (still supported!) system and yet I can't because it requires libraries my OS cannot get. :( At this time it's not feasible for me to upgrade to a later version of Mint, and I need to be able to use it on this computer, and not within a virtual machine (otherwise I would've stuck with the Windows program that I had used years ago which still works beautifully).
robbystephenson
KDE Developer
Posts
384
Karma
1
OS

Re: Unable to build from source

Tue Sep 24, 2019 10:04 am
doranwen wrote: I managed to get nearly all of them installed, but I'm stuck at this one:

Code: Select all
CMake Warning at CMakeLists.txt:120 (find_package):
  By not providing "FindKF5Cddb.cmake" in CMAKE_MODULE_PATH this project has
  asked CMake to find a package configuration file provided by "KF5Cddb", but
  CMake did not find one.
KCddb is optional, you shouldn't need to worry about installing it.
doranwen wrote:It also threw out a dozen errors like this:
Code: Select all
CMake Error: Attempt to add a custom rule to output "/home/**username**/Programs/tellico-3.2.1/tellico-3.2.1/build/po/et/docs/tellico/index.cache.bz2.rule" which already has a custom rule.
CMake Error at /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/cmake/KF5DocTools/KF5DocToolsMacros.cmake:143 (add_custom_target):
  add_custom_target cannot create target "po-et-docs-tellico-index-cache-bz2"
  because another target with the same name already exists.  The existing
  target is a custom target created in source directory

That one is hard to figure out. Are you compiling in a clean directory? What version of CMake do you have?
doranwen
Registered Member
Posts
8
Karma
0

Re: Unable to build from source

Tue Sep 24, 2019 2:06 pm
Yes, I created the "build" folder under the folder created by extracting the data from the source code archive as directed in the instructions and have been attempting to build into that one. Though it occurs to me, do I need to be deleting everything in that folder in between attempts to run the command, so it's always empty when I try running the command?

My version of CMake is 3.5.1.
robbystephenson
KDE Developer
Posts
384
Karma
1
OS

Re: Unable to build from source

Wed Sep 25, 2019 1:11 pm
doranwen wrote:Yes, I created the "build" folder under the folder created by extracting the data from the source code archive as directed in the instructions and have been attempting to build into that one. Though it occurs to me, do I need to be deleting everything in that folder in between attempts to run the command, so it's always empty when I try running the command?

At least in this phase of setting up compilation environment, I'd be sure to 'make clean' or delete and recreate the build directory, just to avoid any potential errors.
My version of CMake is 3.5.1.

That should be fine.
doranwen
Registered Member
Posts
8
Karma
0

Re: Unable to build from source

Wed Sep 25, 2019 2:08 pm
robbystephenson wrote:At least in this phase of setting up compilation environment, I'd be sure to 'make clean' or delete and recreate the build directory, just to avoid any potential errors.


I deleted and recreated it (and went back out and into the folder so it wouldn't freak out that it didn't exist), and got the same errors. In fact, there were so many in all (the same as before) that I just created a pastebin of it all: https://pastebin.com/kscVJH8J

Most of it was the same error, as below:

Code: Select all
CMake Error: Attempt to add a custom rule to output "/home/**username**/Programs/tellico-3.2.1/tellico-3.2.1/build/po/es/docs/tellico/index.cache.bz2.rule" which already has a custom rule.
CMake Error at /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/cmake/KF5DocTools/KF5DocToolsMacros.cmake:143 (add_custom_target):
  add_custom_target cannot create target "po-es-docs-tellico-index-cache-bz2"
  because another target with the same name already exists.  The existing
  target is a custom target created in source directory
  "/home/**username**/Programs/tellico-3.2.1/tellico-3.2.1".  See documentation
  for policy CMP0002 for more details.
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/cmake/KF5DocTools/KF5DocToolsMacros.cmake:231 (kdoctools_create_handbook)
  CMakeLists.txt:276 (kdoctools_install)
robbystephenson
KDE Developer
Posts
384
Karma
1
OS

Re: Unable to build from source

Fri Sep 27, 2019 12:25 am
doranwen wrote:I deleted and recreated it (and went back out and into the folder so it wouldn't freak out that it didn't exist), and got the same errors. In fact, there were so many in all (the same as before) that I just created a pastebin of it all: https://pastebin.com/kscVJH8J

Most of it was the same error

Sorry you're having this difficulty compiling. At this point, I don't know what else to suggest, other than brute force disabling the i18n and documentation build to see if that's sufficient to compile the app. In your "/home/**username**/Programs/tellico-3.2.1/tellico-3.2.1/CMakeLists.txt" file, can you open it and at the very end, remove the last 5 lines which should be:
Code: Select all
find_package(KF5I18n CONFIG REQUIRED)
ki18n_install(po)

  find_package(KF5DocTools CONFIG)
  if(KF5DocTools_FOUND)
    kdoctools_install(po)
  endif()

Then give the compilation another go.
doranwen
Registered Member
Posts
8
Karma
0

Re: Unable to build from source

Fri Sep 27, 2019 2:04 am
Well, removing those lines let it build without saying it failed. It still had some errors, but different sorts, as you can see: https://pastebin.com/RYmwbren

The final lines were (posted here so it's easy to see with a quick scan):
Code: Select all
-- Configuring done
-- Generating done
-- Build files have been written to: /home/**username**/Programs/tellico-3.2.1/tellico-3.2.1/build


So it seemed successful?

But then I tried the "sudo make install" as per the compilation directions here and this is what resulted (lots of errors and I have no idea what's going on): https://pastebin.com/svvLtQmL
robbystephenson
KDE Developer
Posts
384
Karma
1
OS

Re: Unable to build from source

Tue Oct 01, 2019 2:09 am
doranwen wrote:Well, removing those lines let it build without saying it failed. It still had some errors, but different sorts, as you can see: https://pastebin.com/RYmwbren

It gets through the CMake configuration, but doesn't build at all.

At this point, I'm sorry. I don't have any idea what's going on. The only odd thing I noticed is that your directory structure has /tellico-3.2.1/tellico-3.2.1/ in it. I'm guessing you have a directory for tellico and then unpacked the .xz file (which created another 3.2.1 folder?)

Beyond that, I'm perplexed. I'm sorry I can't help more.
doranwen
Registered Member
Posts
8
Karma
0

Re: Unable to build from source

Tue Oct 01, 2019 2:58 am
Yeah, that's what happened (I've had too many things I unzipped go to the same directory as the archive itself so I habitually create a new one for anything I'm unzipping). I didn't figure the directory was an actual issue (so I didn't bother changing it), but I can move it if it is.

It's just frustrating that I can't get it to work at all. TheMovieDB is an acceptable substitute for IMDB for most movies, but it doesn't include TV miniseries in it, and trying to manually put in all the info for those (including covers, if I want them) is a real pain. If anyone out there has managed to build it successfully on Mint 18.x (with IMDB connection working) and can create a working appimage (or some other related thing) from that, I would bless them forever, but short of that, I'm stuck with the same issue I had with using the Windows app I had been years ago - either I use within a virtual machine (which doesn't allow for launching the film from the program within my main OS), or I have a program with limited functionality.

I guess this is the one downside for Linux still - the OS can be less than five years old (and still within its support life), but one can already not be able to get the latest versions of programs and updates because they suddenly require later libraries and there's no way (that I know of) to make them fully portable and independent of the OS (from what I've read, even appimages say you're supposed to do it from the earliest version you want it to be able to run on, not later ones), or bundle them as a local version with the program. Normally I'm a "Linux is the best" fan but this is one area where Windows does have Linux beat. :(
robbystephenson
KDE Developer
Posts
384
Karma
1
OS

Re: Unable to build from source

Tue Oct 01, 2019 10:34 am
I'm not familiar exactly with how Linux Mint and Ubuntu are related, version-wise. To some extent, one can use Ubuntu PPAs in Linux Mint, correct? I wonder if you might be able to get a slightly more up-to-date version through a PPA such as this one. I'm not sure how risky that can be...
https://launchpad.net/~dominik-stadler/ ... xenial-ppa
doranwen
Registered Member
Posts
8
Karma
0

Re: Unable to build from source

Tue Oct 01, 2019 2:59 pm
Ooooooooooooooh… I had tried searching different things but didn't come up with that one!

Mint is an Ubuntu derivative, so in general, anything that works in Ubuntu will also work in Mint. I use Xenial PPAs all the time for things. Mint has its own programs for some of the more OS-basic things (like updates and certain OS-related utilities) but other than the different basic desktop (and a few different default programs for tasks) it's essentially Ubuntu under the hood, as far as I know.

It installs beautifully, though when I tried to launch it it crashed repeatedly - launching from the terminal gave me this:

Code: Select all
QWidget::repaint: Recursive repaint detected
Segmentation fault


When I moved all of the previous data (I had added about 20 files to it with the older version) elsewhere to start fresh, the program worked (though the terminal kept spitting out "QWidget::paintEngine: Should no longer be called") - but it still gets just "Find - IMDB" when I search IMDB for something…
robbystephenson
KDE Developer
Posts
384
Karma
1
OS

Re: Unable to build from source

Wed Oct 02, 2019 1:09 am
doranwen wrote:but it still gets just "Find - IMDB" when I search IMDB for something…

Yeah, most of the fixes for IMDB started in versions 3.1.1 and 3.1.2. The website is constantly changing so it makes it difficult...
doranwen
Registered Member
Posts
8
Karma
0

Re: Unable to build from source

Wed Oct 02, 2019 1:46 am
Alas! So close and yet so far, lol. Oh well. :(


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: bartoloni, Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Sogou [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]