This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Can not run akregator built from source

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
Can you please provide the output of "echo $KDEDIRS" after sourcing the script?
I suspect something might be wrong here...


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
herophuong
Registered Member
Posts
25
Karma
0
OS
Here:
Code: Select all
/home/herop-kde/devel/install:/usr

Oh. I think it supposed to be /home/herop-kde/devel//install/master, right?
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
Please provide the output of "ls /home/herop-kde/devel/install". It should have directories named "bin", "share", etc.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
herophuong
Registered Member
Posts
25
Karma
0
OS
Poor me, I have also used other environment config file (.build-config).

Code: Select all
# KDE4 Build Environment configuration script
#
# To configure your build environment set LIB_SUFFIX, BASEDIR, BUILDNAME and
# QTDIR as appropriate
#
# The default values provided are for a master/trunk/unstable build in your own
# user directory using your system Qt
 
# Uncomment if building on a 64 bit system
export LIB_SUFFIX=64
 
# Set where your base KDE development folder is located, usually ~/kde
export BASEDIR=~/devel
 
# Give the build a name, e.g. master, 4.6, debug, etc
export BUILDNAME=master
 
# Set up which Qt to use
# Use the system Qt, adjust path as required
export QTDIR=/usr
# Uncomment to use your own build of qt-kde
#export QTDIR=$BASEDIR/inst/master/qt-kde
#export PATH=$QTDIR/bin:$PATH
#export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$QTDIR/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
#export PKG_CONFIG_PATH=$QTDIR/lib/pkgconfig:$PKG_CONFIG_PATH
 
# Set up the KDE paths
export KDE_SRC=$BASEDIR/src
export KDE_BUILD=$BASEDIR/build
export KDEDIR=$BASEDIR/install/$BUILDNAME
export KDEDIRS=$KDEDIR
export KDEHOME=$BASEDIR/home/.$BUILDNAME
export KDETMP=/tmp/$BUILDNAME-$USER
export KDEVARTMP=/var/tmp/$BUILDNAME-$USER
mkdir -p $KDETMP
mkdir -p $KDEVARTMP
 
# Add the KDE plugins to the Qt plugins path
export QT_PLUGIN_PATH=$KDEDIR/lib/kde4/plugins
 
# Do we really need these?
export KDE4_DBUS_INTERFACES_DIR=$KDEDIR/share/dbus-1/interfaces
export PYTHON_SITE_PACKAGES_DIR=$KDEDIR/lib/python2.6/site-packages/PyKDE4
 
# Export the standard paths to include KDE
export PATH=$KDEDIR/bin:$PATH
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$KDEDIR/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
export PKG_CONFIG_PATH=$KDEDIR/lib/pkgconfig:$PKG_CONFIG_PATH
 
# Export the CMake paths so it searches for KDE in the right places
export CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH=$KDEDIR:$CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH
export CMAKE_LIBRARY_PATH=$KDEDIR/lib:$CMAKE_LIBRARY_PATH
export CMAKE_INCLUDE_PATH=$KDEDIR/include:$CMAKE_INCLUDE_PATH
 
# Unset XDG to avoid seeing KDE files from /usr
# If unset then you must install shared-mime-info
#unset XDG_DATA_DIRS
#unset XDG_CONFIG_DIRS
 
# Uncomment if you are using Icecream for distributed compiling
#export PATH=/opt/icecream/bin:$PATH
 
# Report what the environment is set to
echo
echo "*** Configured KDE Build Environment " $BUILDNAME " ***"
echo
echo "QTDIR=" $QTDIR
echo "KDEDIR=" $KDEDIR
echo "PATH=" $PATH
echo


The proper directory should be devel/install/master, not devel/install. I will re-source this .build-config file and then rebuild everything to see if it works.
herophuong
Registered Member
Posts
25
Karma
0
OS
Well, it still doesn't work. As you can see in my first post, the ldd command lists every shared objects that akregator linked to. ldd can see all of them, while akregator doesn't. So I think the problem is inside akregator itself, not because of the dev environment because other kdepim applications still run well (actually not really well but that's different problem).
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
Okay, this is weird.

The output of ldd is not important here, it is the content of the Sycoca. Can you try launching Akregator on the console, with all debug output enabled (kdebugdialog is your friend here) and see what messages it outputs?

If it says it cannot find the akregator_part, then it is definitely a Sycoca / KDEDIRS issue. (In which case, make sure all parts of KDEDIRS exist, and point to a installation base directory).


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
herophuong
Registered Member
Posts
25
Karma
0
OS
Code: Select all
~/devel/install/master/bin$ ./akregator
QDBusConnection: session D-Bus connection created before QCoreApplication. Application may misbehave.
QDBusConnection: session D-Bus connection created before QCoreApplication. Application may misbehave.

Just after I press OK at the missing akregatorpart dialog, akregator quits without any further output. I've also turn on all debug information by using kdebugdialog as you've said.
Code: Select all
$ echo $KDEDIRS
/home/herop-kde/devel/install/master
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
That KDEDIRS is incorrect, unless you have a full installation of KDE (including all applications) under /home/herop-kde/devel/install/master.

You probably want it to read /usr:/home/herop-kde/devel/install/master instead.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
herophuong
Registered Member
Posts
25
Karma
0
OS
I think it is correct because:
Code: Select all
~/devel/install/master$ ls .
bin  etc  include  lib  lib64  share
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
While it is valid - you need to include all relevant installation directories in KDEDIRS. This includes the system-wide installation of KDE.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
herophuong
Registered Member
Posts
25
Karma
0
OS
So I did as you said:
Code: Select all
$ echo $KDEDIRS
/usr:/home/herop-kde/devel/install/master


But still :'( :
Image
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
I'm mystified now. Does running kdeinit4 work with the adjusted environment variables? (You do not need to set KDEDIR)


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
herophuong
Registered Member
Posts
25
Karma
0
OS
Running kdeinit4 still has the same error:
Code: Select all
$ kdeinit4
klauncher(20097) kdemain: Waiting for already running klauncher to exit.
klauncher(20097) kdemain: Waiting for already running klauncher to exit.
klauncher(20097) kdemain: Another instance of klauncher is already running!
kdeinit4: Communication error with launcher. Exiting!


I haven't run kdeinit4 before, so what does it suppose to do and what should its behaviour be?
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
kdeinit4 is a process responsible for helping to speed up the startup of numerous applications, which may include Akregator. As this command is failing, it indicates that there is some issue preventing your self built kdeinit4 communicating with the system wide kdeinit4.

This could be either a permissions or an error of a different type. There definitely seems to be communication problems between your system wide and local installations.

I suspect this is due to environment variables.
Can you please pastebin the output of "export" after sourcing your script?


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
herophuong
Registered Member
Posts
25
Karma
0
OS


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Google [Bot]