This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Cleaning up akonadi ressources

Tags: akonadi akonadi akonadi
(comma "," separated)
TioDuke
Registered Member

Cleaning up akonadi ressources

Fri Jan 10, 2014 3:14 pm
This is my first post here, so I think it would be better to introduce myself first.

My name is Augusto and I've been using KDE for almost 9 years now. I jumped in the KDE 4 vagon on version 4.3, I think.

For many years I have been able to trim KDE down to my liking (yes, I am the kind of user who counts applications and tries to minimize usage of system resources). It is important to me, and I understand whoever thinks differently but for me the main reason for using Linux is that you can personalize it however you want.

For instance, I don't use nepimuk myself but I love the idea behind akonadi and I use it every day. The main PIM applications that I use are kadressmanager, korganizer and kmail (with two IMAP accounts).

The agents that I use everyday are:

1) davcal for synchronizing my Gmail calendar (no, I don't use googlecal service)
2) vcard (my local contacts are in vcard, don't ask me why)
3) Two IMAP accounts
4) Birthdays and anniversaries.

That's all I want to use.

Now throughout time I have accumulated a number of agents which I think may or may not be necessary:

5) Outgoing mail sender (or something like that). Necessary to be able to send emails, am I right?
6) Email filters. I use filters on kmail (with spamassasin) so my guess it is that I need it.
7) Email archiver. At the beginning I tried to kill this one, but kmail was giving me trouble, so it stayed even if I don't archive anything (I want my email on the IMAP server, not locally)
8. A new one: email folder archiver. What's the difference with the previous one? Why is it there? Do I really need it?