This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

KMail POP3 problems

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
simondawson
Registered Member

KMail POP3 problems  Topic is solved

Wed Nov 16, 2022 4:06 pm
Hi all

I have been using Kontact/Kmail for many many years now but have recently hit a problem that I cannot resolve. I had been trying to optimise the speed as KMail had been slowing down to a crawl and before I found the solution, I had moved identities, akonadi etc around in .config and .share

I found the "easy" solution to speeding up Kmail (increase Innodb buffer from the measly 128M) but now I cannot get my POP3 account to reconnect to my mail servers.

I have searched and searched for a solution but cannot find anything.

Running
Code: Select all
dbus-launch kmail

starts Kmail with no problems and it is now very responsive with the buffer size now up to to 1GB.
However when I try and retrieve POP3 emails I get the following:
Code: Select all
org.kde.pim.pop3resource: "Unable to login to the server \"MY.EMAIL.SERVER\".\nCould not login to my_email_server. The password may be wrong.\n\nThe server said: \"MX_RECORD_FOR_DOMAIN Syntax error, command unrecognized: EMAIL_PASSWORD\""

where
MY.EMAIL.SERVER is my POP3 mail server
MX_RECORD_FOR_DOMAIN is one of the MX records for my domain
EMAIL_PASSWORD is being quoted back in the error message.

I have deleted all POP3 accounts and recreated but it still won't work when I recreate my main email account. The password has also changed to see if that would cure the problem. I have tried various solutions found online (stop akonadi, change port and SSL/TLS and STARTTLS, then set back to proper port; check and remove various identities in .config etc).