This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

UX deficits for editing paths, measurement points etc.

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
sebalis
Registered Member
OS
Hi,

this is my first post in this forum (or anywhere in a KDE forum). I have been using Marble for a few years now, I like it very much and am always seeking ways to expand my use of it and replace Google Earth with Marble as much as possible. One thing I like to do is record walks I make – not using GPS on the walk, but on my laptop after I return home. Sadly I find Marble severely lacking for this kind of use:

• If I load a path previously made in Google Earth and saved as a KML file, there is no way to edit it, and more disturbingly, there seems to be no way to remove the path from the map display other than by restarting Marble.

• Adding a path manually is possible, but once the path properties dialog is closed, options for making further changes are very limited. “Add Nodes” only lets me place nodes on existing segments, not extend the path. It’s also not easy to actually find a place with the mouse where clicking to add a node will actually work.

• Adding measurement points is a cumbersome operation, they can not be moved afterwards, only deleted. No intermediate points can be added on the path of measuremend points. It does not seem possible to add separate sets of measurement points, they are always regarded as one special path and polygon.

• There should be a consistent mechanism to add paths and measurement paths/polygons, and this should work much like a vector drawing program.

• A path could easily be used for measuring as well if a tab showing the length and possibly area were added in the path properties dialog (as in Google Earth), but this is missing.

• The “Add” functions are counter-intuitively placed in the View menu, not Edit, and “Add Measurement Point” is somewhere else again, i.e. only in the right-click context menu.