This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

KDevelop python

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
User avatar
scummos
Global Moderator
Posts
1175
Karma
7
OS

Re: KDevelop python

Thu Jun 06, 2013 11:29 pm
Where did you install the plugin? Make sure that path is in $KDEDIRS and you ran kbuildsycoca after changing it.
e.g. export KDEDIRS=/usr/local; kbuildsycoca4; kdevelop
Other than that make sure the version numbers of kdevelop and kdev-python match, i.e. you have kdev-python 1.5.x and kdevelop 4.5.x (or rather, kdevplatform 1.5.x). But that should be the case, anyways.

Greetings,
Sven


I'm working on the KDevelop IDE.
dummytester
Registered Member
Posts
40
Karma
0
OS

Re: KDevelop python

Fri Jun 07, 2013 6:49 am
OK, I'm much closer. I have the plugins (well, at least a lot of them, and one is the Python debugger) and I can start a new Python project.

However, I'm still getting some issues. For example, when I started a Python project, I got a couple crashes and at the moment I can't open it again ("./kdevelop: error while loading shared libraries: libkdevplatforminterfaces.so.7: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory"). I'll try to work through it for a while and maybe I can figure out what's going on. Thanks for all the help.
User avatar
scummos
Global Moderator
Posts
1175
Karma
7
OS

Re: KDevelop python

Fri Jun 07, 2013 11:52 am
This sounds like you have screwed up the versions of kdevelop and kdevplatform somehow while compiling.

Make sure to
- check out the proper tags for kdevelop ("git checkout v4.5.1") and kdevplatform ("git checkout v1.5.1") (or update both to master)
- remove any kdevelop / kdevplatform packages (except for kdev-pg-qt) you might have installed from your package manager
- re-run make install after that, first for kdevplatform and then for kdevelop.

Greetings,
Sven


I'm working on the KDevelop IDE.
User avatar
stefan.ivic
Registered Member
Posts
10
Karma
0
OS

Re: KDevelop python

Wed Aug 14, 2013 3:54 pm
What is the state kdev-python plugin? Is it ready and stable enough for serious use?

How come that there are no packages on openSUSE OBS service? On OBS you can usually find all you can imagine :)

Thank you for your response.
User avatar
scummos
Global Moderator
Posts
1175
Karma
7
OS

Re: KDevelop python

Wed Aug 14, 2013 4:46 pm
stefan.ivic wrote:What is the state kdev-python plugin? Is it ready and stable enough for serious use?
If you ask me, yes. It does have a few quirks, especially with some libraries, but it's quite stable and quite useful overall.

stefan.ivic wrote:How come that there are no packages on openSUSE OBS service? On OBS you can usually find all you can imagine :)
There should be packages for SuSE, in some community repository or what... not sure where exactly. But there are packages.

Greetings,
Sven


I'm working on the KDevelop IDE.
User avatar
stefan.ivic
Registered Member
Posts
10
Karma
0
OS

Re: KDevelop python

Wed Aug 14, 2013 4:56 pm
Thanks for your quick replies!

scummos wrote:for SuSE, in some community repository or what... not sure where exactly. But there are packages.

This is all I could find... It's for openSUSE 12.2 and it's broken...
User avatar
scummos
Global Moderator
Posts
1175
Karma
7
OS

Re: KDevelop python

Wed Aug 14, 2013 6:39 pm
That is unfortunate, but I can't help you there -- you need to complain to the SuSE packagers. Sorry.

Cheers,
Sven


I'm working on the KDevelop IDE.
wolfi323
Registered Member
Posts
1129
Karma
11
OS

Re: KDevelop python

Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:46 pm
stefan.ivic wrote:Thanks for your quick replies!

scummos wrote:for SuSE, in some community repository or what... not sure where exactly. But there are packages.

This is all I could find... It's for openSUSE 12.2 and it's broken...

It is there for 12.2 and 12.3, see:
http://software.opensuse.org/download.h ... gin-python

You may have to update kdevelop4 and kdevplatform to the versions from that repo as well.
dummytester
Registered Member
Posts
40
Karma
0
OS

Re: KDevelop python

Sun Oct 27, 2013 1:43 am
OK, so I downloaded it with the new Kubuntu 13.10 and I'm hopelessly lost as to how to get a debug running. It just constantly spits out to me "No valid executable specified" when I try to hit execute. I have the template Python->Simple Python Application.

EDIT: OK, so I did manage to get a simple script running if I used the Script Application launcher. Is that the only way which works? Is there a way to run a script automatically without inserting the path to it? My script (a simple text game) requests user input and the script application launcher doesn't seem to ask for it.

With the Application Launcher, it asks for either a Project Target (a greyed out dropdown) or an executable ... I tried putting my python script as the Python but it gave me a different error when I tried to execute ("Could not start program '/home/ben/projects/kdev_python/kdev_python.py'. Make sure that the path is specified correctly") and no message when I tried to debug.
User avatar
scummos
Global Moderator
Posts
1175
Karma
7
OS

Re: KDevelop python

Sun Oct 27, 2013 7:20 am
With the script launcher you have to put "python" as the interpreter and your script as the executable. You can also use the native launcher but then you can't debug.

Unfortunately the script launcher does not support user input at all at the moment. You can use the native launcher with "use external terminal", then you get user input, but you can't debug. Sorry. This is just not a focus of development.

Greetings,
Sven


I'm working on the KDevelop IDE.
Volta
Registered Member
Posts
6
Karma
0
OS

Re: KDevelop python

Wed Jan 22, 2014 12:44 pm
I am having the following problem with the debugger: it does not output anything that would go to stdout or stderr. The debugger starts all right, and I can see local variables and their content in the variables window, set breakpoints, step through the code. But no output. Executing does produce output like expected. Also, i have noticed that the debug tab title, where I would expect the output to go, shows the full path to the project: python2/home/pelle/CloudStation/dev/python/test/test.py, while executing gives the name of the run configuration, in this case test.
Is there a setting somewhere that I am missing?

If it matters, here is the little Python script im using to test:
Code: Select all
'''Documentation, License etc.

@package test
'''

hi = "stdout and var test"

print hi

raise IOError("stderr test")


If you need more information, please ask.

OS: Debian Testing, Linux 3.11-2 amd64
KDE: 4.12.1
KDevelop 4.5.2 using KDE Development Platform 4.12.1
Kdevelop-python (python support plugin) 1.5.2, same for Python Debugger (pdb) Support

Currently just using Emacs, and although it works, it is not the height of convenience :P

Oh, and one more thing: ive noticed that running does not save. Im kinda used to just running without first saving, and end up running older versions of the project. Is there a setting somewhere to save when executing or debugging?
User avatar
scummos
Global Moderator
Posts
1175
Karma
7
OS

Re: KDevelop python

Thu Jan 23, 2014 6:11 pm
This was apparently caused by an internal change in kdevplatform and has not really been noticed by anyone. ;P

It should now be fixed in the 1.5, 1.6 and master branches. If you build yourself, just update and it should work; otherwise you'll have to wait for the 1.5.3 or 1.6.1 releases.

Greetins,
Sven


I'm working on the KDevelop IDE.
peterbrandon
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0

Re: KDevelop python

Sat May 24, 2014 5:14 am
Hi folks:

I've built kdev-python-v1.6.1-py3 on my Kubuntu 14.04 system. It seems to install without problems. But, when I try to debug a simple script, I get a 'current launch configuration does not support the debug mode' error. I got no such error when I tried to debug with this launch configuration after installing kdev-python from synaptic (v 1.6), but it runs python 2 and my code is in python 3. (I can change the configuration so it runs python 3, but the debugger from synaptic then says it doesn't work w/ python 3.)

It's not clear to me that KDevelop 'sees' the plugin I built--it doesn't show up under the plugins.

Hope fully there is some simple way to get that to happen?
User avatar
scummos
Global Moderator
Posts
1175
Karma
7
OS

Re: KDevelop python

Sun May 25, 2014 4:00 pm
Did you install it with -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr or add the prefix (if it was not /usr) to $KDEDIRS?
Did you run kbuildsycoca4 after installation?

Greetings!


I'm working on the KDevelop IDE.
mkramer
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0

Re: KDevelop python

Wed Jun 18, 2014 6:27 am
Hi Sven,

I have compiled the plugin with Ubuntu 14.04.
It is loaded (I checked with Help -> Loaded Plugins) and and erverthing is okay, except debugging.
The debugger is started but I cannot inspect any variables. I always get the value "*** SyntaxError: invalid syntax" vor every variable.

Do you have any idea what could be the reason for this issue?

Kind regards,
Michael


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], daret, Google [Bot], Sogou [Bot]