This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Help debugging plasmoid

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
User avatar
Timmer
Registered Member
Posts
23
Karma
0
OS

Help debugging plasmoid

Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:44 pm
I'm writing a clock plasmoid, based off of the analog clock (which means that it's a c++ one - that plasmoid has not yet been ported over to QML apparently). The idea is to make a clock on an alternate time scheme which uses 10 "hour" days with 100 "minute" "hours".

I've already written the data engine for this, and a simple digital clock plasmoid in QML that works just fine using the data engine. So I believe that part is okay.

However, my analog plasmoid draws the clock at 0, and the hands never update. I've tried using the Debug view in KDevelop to run my plasmoid, insert some break points and read the variables at that point in execution, but when I attempt to launch with F9, I just get a dialog message "The current launch configuration does not support the 'debug' mode."

I don't see anything in the launch confguration screen to enable debug mode - does anyone have any advice for debugging this?


Timmer, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Nov.
User avatar
scummos
Global Moderator
Posts
1175
Karma
7
OS

Re: Help debugging plasmoid

Wed Jan 15, 2014 11:41 pm
How did you configure the launch? I'm not sure how you launch a plasmoid in general but if you don't use the "Native" launcher, debugging will not work afaik.

Greetings


I'm working on the KDevelop IDE.
User avatar
Timmer
Registered Member
Posts
23
Karma
0
OS

Re: Help debugging plasmoid

Thu Jan 16, 2014 1:48 am
In Menu/Configure Launches... I clicked on the New Launch... button, and selected "Plasmoid Launcher." Image


Timmer, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Nov.
User avatar
scummos
Global Moderator
Posts
1175
Karma
7
OS

Re: Help debugging plasmoid  Topic is solved

Thu Jan 16, 2014 5:56 pm
Yes I guess it is expected that debugging does not work this way. I'm unfamiliar with writing plasmoids, do you have some executable you can run to make the plasmoid show up? Then you could use that with the "Native" launcher.


I'm working on the KDevelop IDE.
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS

Re: Help debugging plasmoid

Fri Jan 17, 2014 3:31 am
The command "plasmoidviewer" should allow you to run a Plasma Applet standalone.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
User avatar
Timmer
Registered Member
Posts
23
Karma
0
OS

Re: Help debugging plasmoid

Sat Jan 18, 2014 2:24 am
Ah ha! Thanks. For anyone else, the "native" application launcher is not actually called "native," but it's also not "any one of the native options in the kdevelop" either. It's (at least currently) called "Application."

But once I figured that out, it seems to be working now.

Edit: Yup definitely works! I figured out where my problem was, and now my plasmoid works.


Timmer, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Nov.


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], daret, Google [Bot], Sogou [Bot]