This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

No icons at all

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
Horus
Registered Member
Posts
296
Karma
0
OS

No icons at all

Mon Oct 12, 2015 7:51 am
Hello,

I'm using Dolphin 15.08.1 and all icons in the application are missing. However, I'm using Dolphin without KDE Window Manager / Plasma but I'm using the i3 window manager. When using the full KDE it's fine though there are still icons missing for some file types. Is there anything that can be done to have Dolphin's icons on i3 as well?

http://xgm.de/upload/dolphin.jpg

Best and Thanks!
luebking
Karma
0
Horus
Registered Member
Posts
296
Karma
0
OS

Re: No icons at all

Mon Oct 12, 2015 2:14 pm
Code: Select all
XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP=kde dolphin
QT_QPA_PLATFORM_THEME=kde dolphin
QT_QPA_PLATFORM=kde dolphin

Neither one worked. The first two showed no effect, the last one:
Code: Select all
% QT_QPA_PLATFORM=kde dolphin
This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platform plugin "kde".

Available platform plugins are: eglfs, linuxfb, minimal, minimalegl, offscreen, xcb.

Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.
[1]    31334 abort (core dumped)  QT_QPA_PLATFORM=kde dolphin


Any more ideas?

Thx!
luebking
Karma
0

Re: No icons at all

Mon Oct 12, 2015 3:33 pm
Do you have the breeze and/or oxygen icons installed and also /usr/lib/qt/plugins/platformthemes/KDEPlatformTheme.so
If you want to use another platform theme (eg. lxqt) you'll have to convince Qt that you're on such session, I *guess* one of

Code: Select all
XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP=lxqt dolphin
QT_QPA_PLATFORM_THEME=lxqt dolphin


would do.

If you want to use the KDE platform theme, but another icon theme, ensure to have ~/.config/kdeglobals contain

Code: Select all
[Icons]
Theme=MyFancyTheme
Horus
Registered Member
Posts
296
Karma
0
OS

Re: No icons at all

Mon Oct 12, 2015 3:58 pm
Ok, I hadn't installed KDEPlatfromTheme.so but now it is installed from package frameworkintegration.

Breeze / Oxygen icons should be installed, since I also use full KDE on that machine and dolphin has icons there.
.config/kdeglobals contains no Theme entry.

But
XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP=kde dolphin
now works and dolphin has icons.

Still, shouldn't this work anyway, without pretending to be on KDE? (I fear some yet unknown side effects).
luebking
Karma
0

Re: No icons at all

Mon Oct 12, 2015 4:09 pm
Qt aligns to the present platform.
Thus the platform themes (depending on the configuration and the system, ie. this covers OSX and windows as well) resolve icons.
You need *some* platform or it won't resolve icons.

=> Dolphin would have to compile in failsafe icons in case the system returns an empty one.
You may file such request, but I assume it WONTFIX (since it completely crosses the conceptual approach of the sublying toolkit)

The "proper™" solution would be to write an i3 platform theme for Qt that somehow™ resolves icons - no idea whether that's feasable since i3 is not actually some desktop environment (has no icon config tool etc.)
Horus
Registered Member
Posts
296
Karma
0
OS

Re: No icons at all

Mon Oct 12, 2015 6:49 pm
luebking wrote:Qt aligns to the present platform.
Thus the platform themes (depending on the configuration and the system, ie. this covers OSX and windows as well) resolve icons.
You need *some* platform or it won't resolve icons.

What is a platform in this sense? I assume something like KDE / Gnome (something offering a theming facility). Actually for me it would be fine to completely have KDE to be that platform, even on i3. I use both WMs and that would make configuration life easier for me.
I don't like changing XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP because it's set to "i3" and it's also being used by other applications, like dex (https://github.com/jceb/dex).

=> Dolphin would have to compile in failsafe icons in case the system returns an empty one.
You may file such request, but I assume it WONTFIX (since it completely crosses the conceptual approach of the sublying toolkit)

I was not going to request that. I would rather expect said toolkit to have some working default. BTW, other KDE applications such as okular 0.23.1 (KDE 4.14.12) or kmail 4.14.10 are working. They have icons. It does not seem to be a systemic problem.

The "proper™" solution would be to write an i3 platform theme for Qt that somehow™ resolves icons - no idea whether that's feasable since i3 is not actually some desktop environment (has no icon config tool etc.)
Horus
Registered Member
Posts
296
Karma
0
OS

Re: No icons at all

Mon Oct 12, 2015 6:57 pm
When started in a shell, dolphin spits out a lot of messages like:

QPixmap::scaled: Pixmap is a null pixmap
QPixmap::scaled: Pixmap is a null pixmap
QPainter::begin: Paint device returned engine == 0, type: 2
QPainter::setOpacity: Painter not active
QPainter::begin: Paint device returned engine == 0, type: 2
QPainter::setOpacity: Painter not active
QPainter::begin: Paint device returned engine == 0, type: 2
QPainter::setCompositionMode: Painter not active
QPixmap::scaled: Pixmap is a null pixmap
QPixmap::scaled: Pixmap is a null pixmap
QPixmap::scaled: Pixmap is a null pixmap
luebking
Karma
0

Re: No icons at all

Mon Oct 12, 2015 9:39 pm
exporting "QT_QPA_PLATFORM_THEME=kde" should do in this case

> other KDE applications such as okular 0.23.1 (KDE 4.14.12) or kmail 4.14.10 are working.
Those are Qt4 / KDE SC4 based applications. This QPA design was introduced with Qt5.

> When started in a shell, dolphin spits out a lot of messages like:
Seems like it tries to operate on a null pixmap (missing icon?), not an actual bug, but bad code and Qt warns about it.
Horus
Registered Member
Posts
296
Karma
0
OS

Re: No icons at all

Mon Oct 12, 2015 10:12 pm
But
Code: Select all
QT_QPA_PLATFORM_THEME="kde" dolphin


shows no effect. No icons.
luebking
Karma
0

Re: No icons at all

Tue Oct 13, 2015 7:49 am
my bad: QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME="kde" dolphin
Horus
Registered Member
Posts
296
Karma
0
OS

Re: No icons at all

Tue Oct 13, 2015 9:27 am
Ok, that works!

I try to set it user session wide in my .zshenv:

if [ $XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP = "i3" ]; then
export QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME="kde"
fi


But that seems to somehow brake all KDE applications with regard to dbus:

Code: Select all
1 florian@asaru ~ % dolphin
"Session bus not found\nTo circumvent this problem try the following command (with Linux and bash)\nexport $(dbus-launch)"

1 florian@asaru ~ % okular   
okular(1479)/kdeui (kdelibs): Session bus not found
To circumvent this problem try the following command (with Linux and bash)
export $(dbus-launch)
KCrash: Application 'okular' crashing...
KCrash: Attempting to start /usr/lib/kde4/libexec/drkonqi from kdeinit
KCrash: Connect sock_file=/home/florian/.kde4/socket-asaru/kdeinit4__0

253 florian@asaru ~ % systemctl --user status dbus.service
● dbus.service - D-Bus User Message Bus
   Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/user/dbus.service; indirect; vendor preset: enabled)
   Active: active (running) since Di 2015-10-13 11:22:55 CEST; 1min 20s ago
     Docs: man:dbus-daemon(1)
 Main PID: 790 (dbus-daemon)
   CGroup: /user.slice/user-1000.slice/user@1000.service/dbus.service
           ├─790 /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --session --address=systemd: --nofork --nopidfile --systemd-activation
           ├─951 /usr/lib/at-spi2-core/at-spi-bus-launcher
           ├─957 /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --config-file=/etc/at-spi2/accessibility.conf --nofork --print-address 3
           ├─959 /usr/lib/at-spi2-core/at-spi2-registryd --use-gnome-session
           └─988 /usr/bin/gnome-keyring-daemon --start --foreground --components=secrets

Okt 13 11:22:55 asaru systemd[680]: Started D-Bus User Message Bus.
Okt 13 11:22:56 asaru dbus-daemon[790]: Activating service name='org.a11y.Bus'
Okt 13 11:22:56 asaru dbus-daemon[790]: Successfully activated service 'org.a11y.Bus'
Okt 13 11:22:56 asaru org.a11y.Bus[790]: Activating service name='org.a11y.atspi.Registry'
Okt 13 11:22:56 asaru org.a11y.Bus[790]: Successfully activated service 'org.a11y.atspi.Registry'
Okt 13 11:22:56 asaru org.a11y.atspi.Registry[957]: SpiRegistry daemon is running with well-known name - org.a11y.atspi.Registry
Okt 13 11:22:56 asaru dbus-daemon[790]: Activating service name='org.freedesktop.secrets'
Okt 13 11:22:56 asaru gnome-keyring-daemon[988]: couldn't access control socket: /run/user/1000/keyring/control: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
Okt 13 11:22:56 asaru org.freedesktop.secrets[790]: ** Message: couldn't access control socket: /run/user/1000/keyring/control: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht g
Okt 13 11:22:56 asaru dbus-daemon[790]: Successfully activated service 'org.freedesktop.secrets'


Edit: after some minutes it seems to work again. But after a reboot it's broken again. Maybe some other application fixed the dbus?

Any idea?
luebking
Karma
0

Re: No icons at all

Tue Oct 13, 2015 1:51 pm
At least your okular is a Qt4 application - it completely ignores the QPA environment variable, so you can be sure that change didn't cause this problem.

If no session bus is available, kdelibs applications (okular) will usually start one - I'm at hand not sure whether KDE5 applications will as well.

The export should however probably not be in .zshenv but in the scripts used to run the i3 session (eg. xinitrc, but I don't know whether and how there's something like a "starti3" and what files it sources.

/usr/bin/dbus-daemon --session --address=systemd: --nofork --nopidfile --systemd-activation


This looks weird, systemd should be a system daemon?
Horus
Registered Member
Posts
296
Karma
0
OS

Re: No icons at all

Tue Oct 13, 2015 4:31 pm
luebking wrote:At least your okular is a Qt4 application - it completely ignores the QPA environment variable, so you can be sure that change didn't cause this problem.


I'm pretty sure that this change cause the problem. It's reprodicible by just these lines. Probably it also affects okular indirectly.

If no session bus is available, kdelibs applications (okular) will usually start one - I'm at hand not sure whether KDE5 applications will as well.

The export should however probably not be in .zshenv but in the scripts used to run the i3 session (eg. xinitrc, but I don't know whether and how there's something like a "starti3" and what files it sources.


Ok, I will look into a better place to put that.

/usr/bin/dbus-daemon --session --address=systemd: --nofork --nopidfile --systemd-activation


This looks weird, systemd should be a system daemon?


Sorry, what do you mean? Is it that I'm already using user session d-bus? https://www.archlinux.org/news/d-bus-no ... ser-buses/
luebking
Karma
0

Re: No icons at all

Tue Oct 13, 2015 8:43 pm
I'm not sure whether Qt supports systemd session services (and if they're the only ones ...)
Do you have
Code: Select all
echo $DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS


If the export alone screws dbus access, does this also happen if you do not put into .zshenv?
Did you have a .zshenv before?


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], rockscient, Yahoo [Bot]