This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Authentication on Samba shares

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
dct35115
Registered Member

Authentication on Samba shares

Sat May 01, 2010 7:53 pm
I'm relatively new to Linux (i.e., I avoid the command line like the plague). I've played around with several distros. I currently have Puppy on USB, a Ubuntu laptop, and 2 old PCs with Linux Mint and PCLinuxOS 2009.2.

One of of the main needs I have is to access the shared MyDocuments folder on my XP Home SP3 machine. My Ubuntu laptop accesses it no problem. The Mint and PCLOS installs access it with no problem. Just today, the Ubuntu 10.04 LiveCD accesses it with no problem.

Kubuntu 10.04 LiveCD has a problem. Dolphin sees the share automatically. But it keeps prompting me for authentication when I try to access the share via Dolphin. I never provide any authentication in any of the others listed above. They “just work”. I don't know what ID and password to use. I try the XP user name and password but it just keeps prompting me for authentication. It sometimes randomly lets me drill down thru the folders but when I get to the file level I can't open a file.

Now, here's the interesting part: I tried Mandriva 2010 in February and I ran into the same exact problem in accessing the share. I could not get a satisfying explanation as to why I was prompted for authentication from that forum so I gave up and installed Mint 8 instead.

Note: After reading this KDE forum and seeing that Dolphin is not real popular, I went back and tried Konq and was able to open a file with no authentication. A bit later Konq started prompting for authentication.

So now I'm booted back into Ubuntu 10.04 LiveCD.

I'd love to install either Mandriva 2010 or Kubuntu 10.04 but I've got to be able to easily and consistently access the XP share. Any explanation of why KDE prompts for authentication when the others I'm using do not would be most appreciated.