This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

HOWTO: Install Ktorrent 2.1.1 On Ubuntu Edgy Eft (6.10)

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
maynoth
Registered Member
Posts
16
Karma
0
Hello everyone...

I would like to share with you how I got ktorrent 2.1.1 running in Edgy.

I know they have debs for the older 2.1 version but I wanted the newest available.

The instructions on Ktorrent's site as well as in the .gz file are don't seem to help much for regular ubuntu edgy, I had to teach myself how to do this.

Big thanks to all the ppl esp (chavo, bonbonthejon, renze) in #ubuntu/#kubuntu.

I hope this helps someone please let me know how it works out for you, if you can help me improve these instructions please let me know.

Prior To Installation:

The Ktorrent Devs Suggest Running:
Code: Select all
make -f admin/Makefile.common


Prior To Running:
Code: Select all
./configure --prefix=$(kde-config --prefix)


Doing so on Ubuntu 6.10 requires you to install "build-essential" "automake" "autoconf" "kde-devel" "kdelib"

I am not sure what is really necessary so just use synaptic and just grab everything related to those packages before doing anything else. I personally know this fixes a bug with the ip-filter plug-in not being able to unzip the splist.zip, it may fix other bugs also.





Install:

1. Download and Copy ktorrent-2.1.1.tar.gz to home directory http://ktorrent.org/downloads/2.1.1/ktorrent-2.1.1.tar.gz

2.
Code: Select all
tar -xvzf ktorrent-2.1.1.tar.gz


3.
Code: Select all
cd ktorrent-2.1.1


4.
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get build-dep ktorrent


5.
Code: Select all
make -f admin/Makefile.common


6.
Code: Select all
./configure --prefix=$(kde-config --prefix)


7.
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install unsermake


8.
Code: Select all
unsermake


9.
Code: Select all
sudo unsermake install


10.
Code: Select all
which ktorrent
(tells you where its installed)

11.
Code: Select all
sudo chmod 777 (insert data from above here, it was "/usr/bin/ktorrent" for me)





Uninstall:

1.
Code: Select all
cd ktorrent-2.1.1


2.
Code: Select all
sudo unsermake uninstall





Run From Terminal:

Code: Select all
ktorrent






Create Launcher:

Code: Select all
ktorrent


Icon is in the home directory /ktorrent-2.1.1/apps/ktorrent/hi128-app-ktorrent.png


P.S.

If for some weird reason you get errors when trying to launch ktorrent without check to make sure your have write permissions for the directory listed in the terminal error messages. (sudo nautilus)

Last edited by maynoth on Wed Mar 07, 2007 12:55 am, edited 9 times in total.
imported4-Ivan
Registered Member
Posts
819
Karma
0

Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:29 am
Why running KT as root?

Simply

./configure
make
make install
ktorrent

on Edgy and it works flawlessly. Doesn't it?!
maynoth
Registered Member
Posts
16
Karma
0

Tue Mar 06, 2007 2:28 pm
I am not sure why but that doesn't won't install it at all on ubuntu edgy...

Doh! I'm an idiot... you don't need it to be root... just fiddle with the prefs a little.

Ubuntu does not have the necessary dependencies to ./configure ktorrent... so it is required to use "sudo apt-get build-dep ktorrent"


then when you try to do "make" it gives this error...

"WARNING: use unsermake instead of make or use a wrapper script, e.g. makeobj!!!
/home/joris/ktorrent/unsermake/unsermake all
/bin/bash: /home/joris/ktorrent/unsermake/unsermake: No such file or directory
make: *** [all] Error 127"

so you have use "sudo apt-get install unsermake" and "unsermake" to compile, then "sudo unsermake install" to get it installed
I don't know why, even the guys in #ubuntu/#kubuntu were stumped, but it works...

Last edited by maynoth on Wed Mar 07, 2007 12:06 am, edited 2 times in total.
George
Moderator
Posts
5421
Karma
1

Tue Mar 06, 2007 6:18 pm
That can also be solved by running make -f admin/Makefile.common before running configure
maynoth
Registered Member
Posts
16
Karma
0

Tue Mar 06, 2007 6:24 pm
thanks! I will try that... right now...
maynoth
Registered Member
Posts
16
Karma
0

Tue Mar 06, 2007 6:25 pm
do you know a way to compile it so that the plugins will work if installed to /usr/local ?
madberry
Registered Member
Posts
32
Karma
0

Plugin problem

Tue Mar 06, 2007 6:40 pm
After using the method as described above...

I'm stil using 2.1 which was installed from the deb made by jdong...

running:
Code: Select all
which ktorrent

tells me the newly installed version is in:
Code: Select all
/usr/local/bin/ktorrent

now running:
Code: Select all
root@xxxxxxxxx:# /usr/local/bin/ktorrent

will start the new version 2.1.1 but with no plugin support???

Do the debs made by jdong use a different path ????
[edit]I geuss i should just wait for jdong's new debs[/edit]

[mad]Berry

Last edited by madberry on Tue Mar 06, 2007 6:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
maynoth
Registered Member
Posts
16
Karma
0

Tue Mar 06, 2007 6:43 pm
George wrote:That can also be solved by running make -f admin/Makefile.common before running configure


I uninstalled and started over from scratch. then before /.configure I tried the command as you suggested but I get this error:

lordmaynoth@lordmaynoth:~/ktorrent-2.1.1$ make -f admin/Makefile.common
./admin/cvs.sh: 651: --version: not found
*** AUTOCONF NOT FOUND!.
*** KDE requires autoconf 2.53 or newer
make: *** [cvs] Error 1
lordmaynoth@lordmaynoth:~/ktorrent-2.1.1$


I tried to "sudo apt-get install autoconf" and rerun "make -f admin/Makefile.common" but I still get the same errors...

:c

update:
To do this Ubuntu 6.10 requires you to install "build-essential" "automake" "autoconf" "kde-devel" "kdelib"

I am not sure what is really necessary so just use synaptic and just grab everything related to those packages before doing anything else. I personally know this fixes a bug with the ip-filter plug-in not being able to unzip the splist.zip, it may fix other bugs also.

Last edited by maynoth on Wed Mar 07, 2007 12:08 am, edited 4 times in total.
maynoth
Registered Member
Posts
16
Karma
0

Re: Plugin problem

Tue Mar 06, 2007 6:45 pm
madberry wrote:After using the method as described above...

I'm stil using 2.1 which was installed from the deb made by jdong...

running:
Code: Select all
which ktorrent

tells me the newly installed version is in:
Code: Select all
/usr/local/bin/ktorrent

now running:
Code: Select all
root@xxxxxxxxx:# /usr/local/bin/ktorrent

will start the new version 2.1.1 but with no plugin support???

Do the debs made by jdong use a different path ????
[edit]I geuss i should just wait for jdong's new debs[/edit]

[mad]Berry


plugins don't work with the compiled version unless its installed to your default kde directory.

/usr/local/bin isn't the default kde directory in edgy at least.

are you sure you compiled with "./configure --prefix=$(kde-config --prefix)"

I am not sure but perhaps the debs and the compiled version are conflicting I wouldn't run them both at the same time.

Last edited by maynoth on Tue Mar 06, 2007 7:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
madberry
Registered Member
Posts
32
Karma
0

Re: Plugin problem

Tue Mar 06, 2007 7:02 pm
maynoth wrote:plugins don't work with the compiled version unless its installed to your default kde directory :c /usr/local/bin isn't the default kde directory. I am not sure but perhaps the debs and the compiled version are conflicting I wouldn't run them both at the same time.

I'm not using them both at the same time..

I used your method isn't that installing in the standard kde dir?

[mad]Berry
maynoth
Registered Member
Posts
16
Karma
0

Tue Mar 06, 2007 7:07 pm
"./configure --prefix=$(kde-config --prefix)"

should work at least it does for me.

it installed mine it to: "/usr"

instead of: "/usr/local" like yours

I think /usr is the default kde dir in edgy at least. I am not sure about other distros...
madberry
Registered Member
Posts
32
Karma
0

Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:04 pm
maynoth wrote:"./configure --prefix=$(kde-config --prefix)"

should work at least it does for me.

it installed mine it to: "/usr"

instead of: "/usr/local" like yours

I think /usr is the default kde dir in edgy at least. I am not sure about other distros...


Did that fix the plugin problem????

[mad]Berry
maynoth
Registered Member
Posts
16
Karma
0

Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:07 pm
yes I had the same issue... I had to use my kde directory to get it working with the plugins...
madberry
Registered Member
Posts
32
Karma
0

That Worked

Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:29 pm
Just figured out what was the problem before you edited your post u didn't have the:
Code: Select all
"./configure --prefix=$(kde-config --prefix)"

but you had:
Code: Select all
./configure

that doesn't install to the default dirs surprisingly...

I uninstalled the previous install and reinstalled everything with the right settings and it worked like a charm plugins and all.....

Thanks maynoth learned another lesson today :P,
[mad]Berry
maynoth
Registered Member
Posts
16
Karma
0

Wed Mar 07, 2007 12:09 am
sorry learning as I go... :D

The instructions seem to work, and the plugins now seem to work...


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: bartoloni, Bing [Bot], Evergrowing, Google [Bot], q.ignora, watchstar