This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Can't build KDE + QT

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
User avatar
msdobrescu
Registered Member
Posts
119
Karma
0
OS

Can't build KDE + QT

Sat Apr 18, 2020 9:16 am
Hello,

I've used the KDE development guidelines. I build in a KDE Neon VM, unstable version, up to date (daily).
kdesrc-build is up to date, I have configured it to build QT too.

I do this:

Code: Select all
kdesrc-build plasma-desktop plasma-workspace plasma-framework plasma-nm plasma-pa plasma-thunderbolt plasma-vault plasma-workspace-wallpapers kdeplasma-addons kwin systemsettings kscreen breeze discover kinfocenter --include-dependencies --refresh-build


Some apps don't build successfully due to QT version, as the erros show:

libtool: link: g++ -g -O2 -Wall -Wextra -Wno-shadow -o t-keylist t-keylist.o t-support.o -Wl,--disable-new-dtags ../../cpp/src/.libs/libgpgmepp.so ../src/.libs/libqgpgme.so ../../../src/.libs/libgpgme.so -L/home/admius/kde/qt5/lib -L/home/admius/kde/usr/lib /home/admius/kde/usr/lib/libgpg-error.so /home/admius/kde/qt5/lib/libQt5Test.so /home/admius/kde/qt5/lib/libQt5Core.so -lstdc++ -Wl,-rpath -Wl,/home/admius/kde/build/gpgme/lang/cpp/src/.libs -Wl,-rpath -Wl,/home/admius/kde/build/gpgme/lang/qt/src/.libs -Wl,-rpath -Wl,/home/admius/kde/build/gpgme/src/.libs -Wl,-rpath -Wl,/home/admius/kde/usr/lib -Wl,-rpath -Wl,/home/admius/kde/qt5/lib -Wl,-rpath -Wl,/home/admius/kde/usr/lib -Wl,-rpath -Wl,/home/admius/kde/qt5/lib
../src/.libs/libqgpgme.so: undefined reference to `qt_version_tag@Qt_5.14'
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
Makefile:610: recipe for target 't-keylist' failed
make[4]: *** [t-keylist] Error 1
make[4]: Leaving directory '/home/admius/kde/build/gpgme/lang/qt/tests'
Makefile:554: recipe for target 'all' failed
make[3]: *** [all] Error 2
make[3]: Leaving directory '/home/admius/kde/build/gpgme/lang/qt/tests'
Makefile:461: recipe for target 'all-recursive' failed
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory '/home/admius/kde/build/gpgme/lang/qt'
Makefile:458: recipe for target 'all-recursive' failed
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/admius/kde/build/gpgme/lang'
Makefile:535: recipe for target 'all-recursive' failed
make: *** [all-recursive] Error 1


...while QT built by kdesrc-build is:

v5.13


Does kdesrc-build update QT too, or should I do it manually, even though it is the QT confidured by kdesrc-build by using its config file?
Am I doning something wrong?
User avatar
msdobrescu
Registered Member
Posts
119
Karma
0
OS

Re: Can't build KDE + QT  Topic is solved

Tue Apr 21, 2020 12:57 am
Solved by bumping qt version to 5.14.
A merge request was made here https://invent.kde.org/kde/kdesrc-build ... equests/28.

Also, libopenjp2-7-dev is a new dependency needed by poppler.
stormrainbow
Registered Member
Posts
19
Karma
0

Re: Can't build KDE + QT

Thu Aug 13, 2020 7:34 am
Solved by bumping qt version to 5.14.


How did you do that?

I'm also following the guidelines and building QT on a virtual machine (newbie to kdesrc-build).

I'm getting:

/usr/lib/libQt5WebEngineWidgets.so.5: undefined reference to qt_version_tag@5.15


If QT is being built too, does the command have to be kdesrc-build Qt5 ...., or is the include "...qt5-build-include" in "~/.kdesrc-buildrc" enough?

How do you know what modules to add to the kdesrc-build command? I can go kdesrc-build --list. Are those valid modules?
I was watching a youtube video and the author used kdesrc-build Qt5 frameworks workspace. I don't see frameworks or workspace in the list output. There is plasma-workspace, which I see in your kdesrc-build command. Reading "~/.kdesrc-buildrc" more closely, I see lines at the end for includes that are probably there due to the responses given to the kdescr-build-setup script. So if I responded yes to qt5, frameworks, workspace, base. I'll get everything in those includes. But I don't want everything, that's way overkill. So I suppose a user could either comment the includes in "~/.kdesrc-buildrc" and type the modules on the kdesrc-build command or they could edit the include(s) file itself. I suppose the include files could be a place to start to find module names to put on the kdesrc-build command line.
User avatar
msdobrescu
Registered Member
Posts
119
Karma
0
OS

Re: Can't build KDE + QT

Thu Aug 13, 2020 8:36 am
Is your kdesrc-build up to date? If so, and encounter the issue, it seems that a module or dependency you build is ahead with the QT version that you have to build or that is requested by the build scripts. Looks like a bug. See here: https://invent.kde.org/sdk/kdesrc-build ... s/28/diffs for the place to require the QT version. Make a request or notify the devs.


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: bartoloni, Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Sogou [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]