This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

DigiKam - rebuild database from sidecar files

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
lovesmtns
Registered Member
Hi all,
I am new to DigiKam, but somehow I think the following is possible. I hope so, I really like DigiKam. Working on Windows 10 at moment. I am a family image archivist, not a professional photographer. So much EXIF info is unimportant to me. But the family-oriented information is priceless :).

I have an unusual approach to sidecar files, I presume xmp sidecar files. I want the key data to be written to sidecar files 100% of the time. My key data is:
* Title
* Description
* Keytags
* Date Created
* GeoLocation

My goal is to have my photos be readable 50-100 years from now. I do not trust embedded information at all. I want it all in XML based sidecar files.
I also want to be able to rebuild my database from the photos plus sidecar files, to repopulate the database with the above information.
In other words, I like the speed of a database, but want total assurance the data is in readable sidecar files also.

My main filetypes are TIF, JPG, PNG, PDF, MP3, MP4 and AVI.

I sort of think I will need to change switches in DigiKam to a) write this data out to Sidecar files every day, and b) on rare occasion, READ into a new database all the Sidecar information, so the above fields repopulate.

1. "Creation Mode" - Can someone help me know how to set up to write 100% of the time to sidecars, so sidecars are always created and populated with the above information. Call this "creation mode" for creating and populating sidecars.
2. "Rebuild Mode" - And then how to change DigiKam so a new database will read all the sidecar files and rebuild the database? Call this "rebuild mode". I realize after rebuilding, I would need to set DigiKam back to "creation mode" after the rebuild. This is rebuilding the database from the sidecar files.