This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Professionals Video Editors Only Please

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
AlanJames1987
Registered Member
OS
As a professional video editor I know what I desire/need from an NLE but I would like to know what features other professional video editors want/need from their NLE and what NLEs professionals are using.

I would also like to know how many professional video editors there are on here. Anyone who gets paid to edit video or anyone who holds one or more certifications/degrees in video editing please post something here, even if you have nothing to say in regard to the conversation, so that I can get a “head count”.

Professionals have a different set of want/needs then amateurs so, no offense to amateurs but, if you are an amateur video editor please don't post here.

I hope there are enough professionals on here to create an interesting conversation.
nyme
Registered Member

I am glad to see a professional editor here ...

I'm sure your contribution to the project will be "high level" ..

alabandit
Registered Member
I'm not employed as an editor but as one of the guys who solve editor problems, Avid, FCP, premier (learning bones and flint/flame at the moment). I do do some editing. so i'll throw out my 2 cents.

DV - is not a standard worth using for pro work. as far as i understand (still testing though) it not truely constraining us to DV any way. for home use its awesome pros shouldn't touch it.
Color - keeping the color space is essential, but not just in the image but in in the blacks and whites as well. we also need color correction, cause if you on the sounds stage and move your camera, tones change, and its worse every were else.
flx/ale - if you plan on taking your footage through something like IQ, flame, flint, bones, telecine, these will make your life much(!) simpler. especially if you plan on finishing in 2k/4k etc.