This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Importing markers from audio files (BWF) and displaying them in the audio track

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
gpatters
Registered Member
Hello All,

This is my first post to this project so bear with me if I am asking a question that has already been asked in the past (I searched and couldn't find anything). I have a small field recorder that lets me drop markers into the audio files as it is recording. These markers are stored inside the WAV files in the Broadcast Wave Format BWF. The files have a standard .wav extension and playback in every player I could find as normal wav files.

When I load these files into kdenlive, I notice there is an area in the audio clip properties for markers, but none of the markers created by the unit are parsed out of the file. Is parsing these markers out of the wav files supported? (ie am I doing something wrong?)

If not, I have some decent c/c++ experience along with experience in setting up complex development environments, although nothing ever with audio/video applications. I have reviewed http://www.kdenlive.org/contribution-manual/howto-develop-kdenlive already, but it will take a while before I figure out where to start...

Best Regards,

- Gerry
ddennedy
Registered Member
Not supported. As for coding it, it will be quite a challenge. I do not believe there is any way to get the info from FFmpeg, so you have to make your own MLT filter that parses the BWF and makes them into mlt_properties. Then, you will need to figure out when to apply that filter from within Kdenlive and translate those mlt_properties into GUI widgets.

gpatters
Registered Member
Hello Dan,