This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

User manual?!

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
SIA
Registered Member

User manual?!

Mon Jan 07, 2013 8:36 pm
I'm new to kdenlive and have been desperately trying to learn or create even simple effects on my videos to no real success.

I've been looking to find an instruction manual for just simple kdenlive usage.

Most instructions are out of date and vague with no real practical examples.

For example; Luma (or was it Lumina?) is now Dissolve.

The youtube videos, well, the creators of most of them just babel on and on about the effects they're trying to create and then they don't show much of what they've done. Speaking of which- if you're trying to teach someone something this is how it's done;

1- This is exactly what I'm going to teach you. (show an example)
2- Here's precisely how to do it. (step by step process)
3- This is the result. (here, again, is what it looks like)
4- Here are the written steps for how to do what I just showed you.

To put it mildly- kdenlive has been an extremely difficult experience.

I'm running Platform Version 4.8.5 (4.8.5) on Ubuntu 12.04
ttguy
OS

Re: User manual?!

Mon Jan 07, 2013 8:59 pm
Did you try a search on this site for "user manual" and did you find a page linking you to the manual at http://userbase.kde.org/Kdenlive/Manual ?

Did you find the quick start section in that manual? Because that is pretty good for basic kdenlive usage.

When you learn't to use a whole new complex bit of software last time - was it easy?
dekiii
Registered Member

Mon Jan 07, 2013 9:52 pm
Google is your best friend. Lots of tutorials both text and video.
SIA
Registered Member

Mon Jan 07, 2013 9:54 pm
Did you try a search on this site for "user manual" and did you find a page linking you to the manual at http://userbase.kde.org/Kdenlive/Manual ?

Yes. Look up the Transitions--->Automatic Transitions---->Dissolve and see the results you get. Nothing.