This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Kdenlive happy user bug report

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
raphaelpoli
Registered Member
Posts
11
Karma
0

Kdenlive happy user bug report

Sun Jan 12, 2014 4:27 pm
Hello, first I must congratulate developers for kdenlive. I used it already for two videos and did find a lot of after effect like functions. It's the only open software that provides so much.
Now since my last system update I have a lag while accessing to disk windows.
Also when I try to rename a folder it crashes.
thought you might want to correct those, and eventually tell me what I could change to my system to remove the lag.
But of course I can live with it.
yours,
Raphael
khsien
Registered Member
Posts
20
Karma
0
OS

Re: Kdenlive happy user bug report

Thu Jan 23, 2014 10:31 am
Maybe you could revert the update for now? I'm not sure what you can do to fix the problem though.
raphaelpoli
Registered Member
Posts
11
Karma
0

Re: Kdenlive happy user bug report

Thu Jan 23, 2014 11:22 am
I admit I would hope for a less try and error solution.
thanks anyway.
User avatar
Steve Guilford
Registered Member
Posts
207
Karma
0

Re: Kdenlive happy user bug report

Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:56 pm
raphaelpoli wrote:Hello, first I must congratulate developers for kdenlive. I used it already for two videos and did find a lot of after effect like functions. It's the only open software that provides so much.
Now since my last system update I have a lag while accessing to disk windows.
Also when I try to rename a folder it crashes.
thought you might want to correct those, and eventually tell me what I could change to my system to remove the lag.
But of course I can live with it.
yours,
Raphael

There are a lot of reasons why KdenLive may seem slow. Do other applications also exhibit this lag? Be more descriptive. What are the conditions/actions that exhibit the lag.

Can you produce a trace to debug the folder rename crash? Does this happen for every folder? Describe your actions...
raphaelpoli
Registered Member
Posts
11
Karma
0

Re: Kdenlive happy user bug report

Fri Jan 24, 2014 11:41 am
Hello Mr Guilford,
Thanks for the request.
I start kdenlive from ubuntu 12.10 by typing gksudo kdenlive in a terminal
If I click right on the project element list and choose add file, the program works for about thirty seconds but sometimes more, before it shows the dialog.
If I choose the same command from file menu the same happens.
then all seems to work normally.
is that precise enough?
if you need some log please tell.
thanks for your time,
Raphael
User avatar
Steve Guilford
Registered Member
Posts
207
Karma
0

Re: Kdenlive happy user bug report

Fri Jan 24, 2014 5:00 pm
If I understand correctly, you see this delay when you try to add a clip. Is the length of the delay consistent? Does it usually take about 30 seconds between hitting the add-clip button and seeing the add-clip dialog?

If so, then it sounds as though something is timing out - possibly within the processing of the add-clip dialog as it inventories your file-system before display the open-file screen. Do you have any whacky file systems mounted up or any mount points that do not 'answer' when you try to 'ls' them?
raphaelpoli
Registered Member
Posts
11
Karma
0

Re: Kdenlive happy user bug report

Fri Jan 24, 2014 5:37 pm
The delay is, yes, consistent, it is minimum thirty second, and at ten seconds, the window dims. I have an external hard disk that is usually plugged. I just tryed to do the operation without plugging it and it does not change the delay.

yes it is thirty seconds between the clic and the window appearance.
User avatar
Steve Guilford
Registered Member
Posts
207
Karma
0

Re: Kdenlive happy user bug report

Fri Jan 24, 2014 9:10 pm
raphaelpoli wrote:The delay is, yes, consistent, it is minimum thirty second, and at ten seconds, the window dims. I have an external hard disk that is usually plugged. I just tryed to do the operation without plugging it and it does not change the delay.

yes it is thirty seconds between the clic and the window appearance.


Sounds like a time-out condition. The code that executes between the button press and the dialog is this:

Code: Select all
        QString allExtensions = getExtensions();
        const QString dialogFilter = allExtensions + ' ' + QLatin1Char('|') + i18n("All Supported Files") + "\n* " + QLatin1Char('|') + i18n("All Files");
        QCheckBox *b = new QCheckBox(i18n("Import image sequence"));
        b->setChecked(KdenliveSettings::autoimagesequence());
        QCheckBox *c = new QCheckBox(i18n("Transparent background for images"));
        c->setChecked(KdenliveSettings::autoimagetransparency());
        QFrame *f = new QFrame;
        f->setFrameShape(QFrame::NoFrame);
        QHBoxLayout *l = new QHBoxLayout;
        l->addWidget(b);
        l->addWidget(c);
        l->addStretch(5);
        f->setLayout(l);

        QPointer<KFileDialog> d = new KFileDialog(KUrl("kfiledialog:///clipfolder"), dialogFilter, kapp->activeWindow(), f);
        d->setOperationMode(KFileDialog::Opening);
        d->setMode(KFile::Files);
        if (d->exec() == QDialog::Accepted) {
            ...
            ...
 


Doesn't seem to me that there's anything there that would take 30 seconds - other that the KFileDialog constructor or exec().

Going back to your system upgrade did you add/change any hard drives?
How many files are in the directory that KdenLive accesses when you add a clip?
Take a look at the 'places' that are listed down the left-hand side of the file-open dialog. Go through them and see if any act 'funny'...
Try creating a new Linux user and run KdenLive under that user. Run KdenLive from a terminal window in case it spits out anything that might be useful.
raphaelpoli
Registered Member
Posts
11
Karma
0

Re: Kdenlive happy user bug report

Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:10 pm
There are about ten files in the folder. Actually you make me realise that I don't quite recognise the hard disk list. I thought I had only the main hard disk, that is built in and the external disk, but actually three disks appear in the left panel. I started to wonder if the virtual drives of play on linux, windows emulator would appear? But actually I don't think there is any relation.
in the file explorer I have only one built in hard disk drive.
If I understand well your code, which I'm unsure of, this line creates the window:
Code: Select all
new KFileDialog(KUrl("kfiledialog:///clipfolder"), dialogFilter, kapp->activeWindow(), f);

I think the time is taken in the access to the disks which are contained inside the built in procedures you use...
User avatar
Steve Guilford
Registered Member
Posts
207
Karma
0

Re: Kdenlive happy user bug report

Sun Jan 26, 2014 5:18 pm
raphaelpoli wrote:There are about ten files in the folder. Actually you make me realise that I don't quite recognise the hard disk list. I thought I had only the main hard disk, that is built in and the external disk, but actually three disks appear in the left panel. I started to wonder if the virtual drives of play on linux, windows emulator would appear? But actually I don't think there is any relation.
in the file explorer I have only one built in hard disk drive.
If I understand well your code, which I'm unsure of, this line creates the window:
Code: Select all
new KFileDialog(KUrl("kfiledialog:///clipfolder"), dialogFilter, kapp->activeWindow(), f);

I think the time is taken in the access to the disks which are contained inside the built in procedures you use...

I didn't write that code. I just found where the screen gets built. The disk access takes place at that point or at the ->exec() call.

You may be able to discern something by watching a 'top' display in an adjoining window while KdenLive times-out.

What happens when you try KdenLive using a different user?
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS

Re: Kdenlive happy user bug report

Mon Jan 27, 2014 3:47 am
30 seconds sounds suspiciously like the amount of time taken for a D-Bus timeout, although it could also be a QProcess timeout if something is interfering with certain signals (SIGCHLD to be precise) - which the core of VLC is known to do.

Can you please run Kdenlive in a terminal and observe the output made by the application when you click "Add Clip" - up to the point at which the dialog appears?


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
raphaelpoli
Registered Member
Posts
11
Karma
0

Re: Kdenlive happy user bug report

Wed Jan 29, 2014 8:53 am
@ Steve Guilford: I have only one user on this machine. I don't know then how I could run the software under another user.
@bcookslay the terminal does not output anything.
User avatar
ttguy
Moderator
Posts
1152
Karma
6
OS

Re: Kdenlive happy user bug report

Wed Jan 29, 2014 1:49 pm
Did you start kdenlive from a terminal window ?
ie type "kdenlive" into a terminal window ?
raphaelpoli
Registered Member
Posts
11
Karma
0

Re: Kdenlive happy user bug report

Wed Jan 29, 2014 2:09 pm
Yes ttguy, I did. Like I always do: I type "gksudo kdenlive". Otherwise kdenlive has no access to disk.
User avatar
Steve Guilford
Registered Member
Posts
207
Karma
0

Re: Kdenlive happy user bug report

Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:53 pm
raphaelpoli wrote:@ Steve Guilford: I have only one user on this machine. I don't know then how I could run the software under another user.

Are you running KdenLive as a 'root' user? gksudo is used to run graphical apps. as root. Why are you doing that? By running KdenLive via gksudo you may be causing all 'terminal' output to go into the bit-bucket.

When you log into the machine after re-booting, do you log in as root? If so, then you really need to create a 'user'. Using your computer while logged in as root all the time is not recommended. There's plenty of info on the iNet regarding user administration for the flavor of Linux you are using.


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], kde-naveen, Sogou [Bot]