This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

15.04.0 complete review, recommendations & few bug reports

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
jessed
Registered Member
OS
I first want to say the Kdenlive team is doing a phenomenal job with this product. I've been editing on computerized non-linear editors for over 15 years, as a career and a passion. I've used Kdenlive 0.9.4 to teach high school students about video editing and post production in my home of Northern California. I see a tremendous opportunity with the release of 15.04.0 to help Kdenlive reach (and surpass) closed-source, expensive film Industry editors like Final Cut Pro and Adobe Premiere Pro... and, amazingly, it's not that huge a leap to get there.

I wanted to make a thorough analysis 7 review of Kdenlive on performance, UI design, aesthetics, intuitiveness, user-friendliness and polish, and wrote a series of suggestions categorically arranged below to help accomplish just that.

I tested Kdenlive 15.04.0 on Kubuntu 15.04 beta 2, today (April 21, 2015), and wrote these recommendations and notable bugs for both the developers and the community of users for consideration & feedback. I know some of these suggestions might be unanimously favored, while others might be rejected out right. The point is they're out in the open where they have the chance to help this magnificent product reach its position in the Industry, whether they be considered for the 15.08 release, subsequent releases, or otherwise. Thanks to the developers, coders, and others for all your hard work, and here's to making Kdenlive an even better Film Industry standard for novices, amateurs and professionals alike. Cheers!

KEY < S = Suggestion, B = Bug (or, at least, what I think is a bug) >

GENERAL:

B > The breeze dark theme doesn't seem to change many of the icons to a lighter version. The symbols become harder to see or recognize