This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Video resampling (smart resample) like in Sony Vegas

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
SHEG
Registered Member
Hello, everybody!

I am new to Kdenlive and this forum. Hopefully I do not break any rules asking my first question. I am using Kdenlive 0.9.6 on Ubuntu 14.04.0 (maybe this is already regarded as a foul here). For some days now, I am searching for a thread which covers my problem. I also could hardly find an expressive title for this thread of mine, which might be one reason my search wasn't successful until now.

Basically, I am looking for a free alternative to Sony Vegas/Sony Movie Studio - this is where wonderful Kdenlive comes into play - but with one certain feature! In Vegas one has the option to resample video clips with a frame rate differing from the project's frame rate. I don't know if it's some type of 'motion interpolation' or 'motion blur' but this feature leads to a very smooth video.

The feature and its benefits but also disadvantages is explained in this video on youtube.

What I am actually trying is to make a movie out of video game scenes. I record the clips at 240 fps and render the movie at 30 fps. Due to the resampling feature of Vegas not only every 8th frame but all frames are used and in some way overlaid to 30 frames per second (so each frame consists of originally 8 frames).

And here is my question: Is there a way to achieve this with Kdenlive?

Since I am new to this software, I only tried some basic editing and rendering and could not find a way myself. All other threads I found adressed the creation of slow motion effects by the use of frame interpolation.

I really like Kdenlive since the handling is intuitive and the feature set covers all basic needs. Hopefully there is a way to get the resampling effect.

Thanks for your help!
ttguy
OS
The video by SirCrest you link to was very interesting. Thanks for that.