This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Automatic scene split: Not working or user error?

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
jphfilm
Registered Member
I'm trying to use the "Automatic Scene Split" feature in Kdenlive v16.08.2, running on Ubuntu 16.04, but I'm not getting any results.
I'm fairly new to kdenlive, so I don't know whether I'm experiencing a bug or just failing to understand how the feature works.

I right-click on a clip in the project bin, and select "Clip Jobs -> Automatic Scene Split".
In the following box, 'Add Clip Markers (Category 1)' is already selected. No matter which other boxes I also select, after I click 'OK', I can see the job running and the clip being analyzed, but when it finishes there are never any markers or cuts identified in the project monitor, or in the timeline if I add the clip there later. No markers appear in the clip properties.
If I select 'Save Result in clip metadata', it will save a long list of cuts (which I don't know the meaning of) which show in the 'Analysis Data' panel of clip properties: this suggests to me that the analysis IS identifying scene changes, but it's either not applying them, or I'm misunderstanding how to use this feature.
If I save the analysis data to a file, it looks like:

Code: Select all
[Analysis]
shot_change_list=1=14020/0:0x0:0;40=6470;42=4256;115=3319;208=2826;268=6793;384=2566;474=3518;654=2608;1230=5224;1351=8278;1546=6394;1822=3798;1941=2607;2503=5226;2743=3026;2827=6062;2968=15153;2970=4453

(The sequence is longer than this; I just included the first third or so. FWIW, Higher numbers seem to line up with obvious scene changes, but some of the lower numbers seem like false positives.)

Can anyone else identify this same behavior to determine if this is a bug - or perhaps explain how I should be using this feature? It would be extremely useful if I could get it working.
pcurtis
Registered Member