This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

$30 if you can HELP! New kdenlive unusable

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
hgrell
Registered Member
Hello Forum,

I'm a semi professional user of kdenlive on Linux, Xubuntu 16.04

The new version of kdenlive (17.04.0) is just crashing and I can't revert back to the standard packages, because my templates are based on the newer versions. I have 16.12.3 still installed on my Laptop, so I should be fine for now, but I need a solution quickly.

I uninstalled an reinstalled kdenlive twice, but there's not difference. And I can't just reinstall Xubuntu, because I use it productively every day. And apart from kdenlive there's no bugs or problems so far.

So here's the bug report:
- Every time (!) I use a transition of the affine or composite kind and move it on the timeline the program crashes
- also some effects do not work properly. "crop" crops everything for example

If I use the terminal to start kdenlive and it crashes the terminal says every time:

Shortcut for action "rename" "Rename" set with QAction::setShortcut()! Use KActionCollection::setDefaultShortcut(s) instead.
Removing cache at "/home/hagen/.cache/kdenlive-thumbs.kcache"
QXcbConnection: XCB error: 8 (BadMatch), sequence: 621, resource id: 71303183, major code: 155 (Unknown), minor code: 11
KServiceTypeTrader: serviceType "ThumbCreator" not found
[swscaler @ 0x7f34a0946ec0] Warning: data is not aligned! This can lead to a speedloss
Speicherzugriffsfehler (Speicherabzug geschrieben)

The last part is in German and means: "Memory access error (memory copy written)"

Does anyone have a solution?
I'm offering $30 via Paypal - first come first serve.

>> hagengrell@gmail.com

THANKS!
Hagen
capslock
Registered Member
OS
Hi Hagen,
just to keep the communitiy up to date: I have sent you an eMail with the idea to try the AppImage to check if some of the installed depedencies are messed up.
alcinos
Registered Member
Hi @hgrell,