This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Kdenlive - making it more user friendly

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
michaldybczak
Registered Member
I'm a very novice and inexperienced user and I noticed few kdenlive weaknesses that should be improved in the feature. The list is no way near complete, I just list what I noticed myself:

1. Easy mass rendering

It's quite often we get many movies from vacations and we want them render to some smaller sizes or specific formats. Currently I needed to:

- put video on timeline
- manually name it (very, very time consuming)
- hit render to a file
- delete from timeline
- repeat for the dozens of times

Having 40-100+ videos to manually render them is very time consuming and inconvenient. Sure, there is some batch script that supposedly can do mass rendering but... I just couldn't figure it out how it works (I couldn't find any video info how it can be done and forums, sites where too vague about it), so it's useless.

I can't figure out why there is no option to mark many videos, choose a format, quality and hit "render them all" - all names should be preserved or specified with chosen format. That was the main thing I was looking for, googling, reading and... nothing. No one said a word about that. Maybe script can do that but how would I know?

I bet such feature (easy mass rendering) would be a hit and a nice way of attracting casual users to the program. This is important because such unprofessional users can promote the program if it's friendly and useful. Photoshop is not only great and powerful but it's UI is friendly and intuitive hence its massive popularity despite its complicated interface.

2. When adding effects or transitions, Properties should open automatically.