This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

unfa says "hi!" - thinking about video rendering performance

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
unfa
Registered Member
Hi!

TL;DR; How fast can we make Kdenlive render video and how do we do that?

I'm unfa, I'm a Linux electronic music producer and vocalist. I've just released a new album produced entirely with Linux (Linux Mint 18.2, KDE 5, LMMS, Ardour - more details in the album description on Bandcamp if you're interested): https://unfa.bandcamp.com/album/suppressed

I'm also running a YouTube channel where I teach open-source and Linux-based electronic music production.
As of November 2017 I have around 1,500 subscribers on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/unfa000
Also a few Patreon supporters. http://patreon.com/unfa

So far I've been using Blender VSE for all my video editing needs, but I'm constantly looking for other open-source video NLAs to replace it, because I have many problems with it. (I made a video about it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y6PD6Zsh1bo)

The development of Blender VSE is completely stalled for many years now. Still - I wasn't able to find anything that'd do the job for me apart from fro a decade. I'm trying to edit one video with Kdenlive to give it a solid go and maybe switch to it for good. I would really hope that I can do that switch.

What I do is capture a 3840x1080 60 FPS MKV video that I then split to two images: my screen (one half) and my webcam (other half). Then I composite one on top of another with a custom mask, add an animated overlay in the corner. I also did some animation with zooming in and out to different parts of my screen to make it easier fro the viewers to see what I'm talking about. Sometimes I drew custom masks to highlight some elements on the screen too. Blender has a very neat tool for that.

I also sometimes cut/fade to my webcam in fullscreen for parts where I talk and not do anything on the screen.