This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Changing Directory Backup Name Made Project Monitor Inop.

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
tonyawards
Registered Member
Hi,

I'm rather new to kdenlive and have come across a path and backup issue (I think):

I was attempting to archive a main directory in my laptop in order to create a periodic dated back up sequence, so I changed its name. All my kdenlive files were inside this particular directory. Now my kdenlive files no longer have had their video and audio tracks viewable together and the project preview no longer plays both video and audio at once. I can see and play the video clip/s, and I can see and hear the audio, but cannot play them both in the project preview as before. The project monitor just stays white. That part seems a bit similar to this thread * viewtopic.php?f=265&t=152749 * but I am having other issues as well.

I expect that the directory name change messed up the path somehow - as I now (too late...) understand it the default location for all the additional files is in the .cache directory in my /home. I had not chosen any other place as I created each kdenlive project. I also had not yet archived the kdenlive files for moving, nor had I actually moved anything.

But now, after I changed the directory name back to its original name, the kdenlive files still do not have the audio and video viewable together when I open and play them. Even projects I did not open while the name was changed. All the project monitors just show a silent white screen when I try to play them. Have I permanently messed up the path, or...?

However - I just noticed that if I render a test output mp4 file from a project, it does create a correct output with synched audio and video as before...

So, a few questions: