This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

kdenlive is still at version 0.9.10 for MacOS on MacPorts

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
jsilva
Registered Member
It's real, several years back. And now, on High Sierra, it doesn't even build, stops on config error.

I'm not a programmer otherwise I would take care of it myself. As I can't, I just set up a VirtualBox linux machine to run kdenlive and solved the problem (*my* problem).

Furthermore, I'm not demanding anything from anyone, I know this is FOSS and I understand the concept.

But, just out of curiosity, how can this be? I mean, most of good linux applications, which no doubt kdenlive is, are timely ported to MacOs through either HomeBrew or MacPorts, or even by the developers themselves (like inkscape for instance, another excellent one).

But for me, this is a mistery. So, why is kdenlive so many year behind on MacOS, can anybody satisfy my curiosity? It already came out for Windows, imagine!

Looking forward to comments.

Regards,
jsilva
bartoloni
OS
jsilva wrote:But for me, this is a mistery. So, why is kdenlive so many year behind on MacOS, can anybody satisfy my curiosity? It already came out for Windows, imagine!
Looking forward to comments.

I think that Kdenlive for Windows come out because there are more users than Linux + MacOS.. more users.. more diffusion... like what happened for Open/Libre office ... VLC.. .. and also the KDE porting of the entire "suite" starts very very long time ago' (i remember when i used for the first time the KDE-W32 applications on ReactOS.. it was 2008)

i very love Linux for the huge opensource code that every day is made... thanks to Linux, Windows switched from Shareware to Opensource apps on first years of this millennium (BTW i very hate the very old "shareware" idea) and everyone using windows (lot of licenses at ZERO cost around with dead Notebooks/PCs) can be productive without spending money (like on Linux)