This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

A Few Problems With Kdenlive on Windows 10

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
johnnydoe
Registered Member
Hello, I've been using Kdenlive for the past 3 years now, and I've loved it so far. however, in the past few days I've been having quite a lot of problems with the program.

I've done a clean install about three times now but the problems still won't go away. When I open it once, it opens, and you can edit videos just fine, but when I close it, it doesn't 'really' close, so after that, whenever I click to open it, it won't open. I have to do ctrl + shift + esc to open the Task Bar, and close dbus-daemon.exe, and kdenlive.exe, only then will it truly close and be open-able again.

Rendering doesn't seem to work correctly either anymore; whenever I click 'Render', it freezes for about 15 seconds, and then opens the rendering window. When I click 'Render to file' it freezes for 15 secs again, and when it actually starts 'rendering', it doesn't go beyond "Waiting...", I even left it on for one hour and it still wouldn't go beyond waiting. Terminating the render doesn't seem to correctly work either, I have to yet again open the Task Bar and close kdenlive_render, dbus-daemon, kdenlive.exe, and melt.exe. What's interesting to note is that, when I close one of the programs in the task bar, that's when it seems to actually start rendering. Really weird.

I'm getting really irritated here, it's been like this for the past few days and none of the information I found here seems to help. Hopefully you folks will be able to help me out.
Merlimau
Registered Member
Yes, when you end/close the program the Kdenlive process is still there. Developer working on this issue. Do the following after ending Kdenlive: ctrl + shift + esc right cklick on the process Kdenlive end choose “end process tree”. This will close all running Kdenlive processes.