This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Things stopping me to use v19...

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
bigboss97
Registered Member

Things stopping me to use v19...

Wed Aug 14, 2019 11:30 am
I'm a professional software tester. I love to test the latest (Windows) kdenlive and hope that I can help to make it better. But there are things stopping me...
1) Old fonts of existing project have to be replaced.
Why are some fonts of the old version removed? If I make series of videos they will look different in each kdenlive version. This has happened many times in the past.
2) Project of v19 can't be opened in v18.
That's a big concern. I always test the new version with my "real" project and I keep a good old kdenlive version for fallback. When I encounter a problem in the new version I can go back to the previous version. Now it's no longer possible. I would be stuck in such a situation.

_=__=__=__=__=__=__=__=__=__=_
http://youtube.com/bigboss97
Merlimau
Registered Member
Thank you for the feedback and testing Kdenlive.

1. I think you talking about the fonts used in title clips. It pulls your installed text fonts. If you used a font which is not installed anymore on your system Kdenlive ask for a replacement. As the titler is under a re-write we could check if fonts should be embedded in the saved Kdenlive file.

2. Here I have to ask the developer for more details. But the 19.4 Kdenlive project file has a different structure which is not backwards compatible anymore. Maybe we could add a function to save an 18.12 version type project file.
bartoloni
OS
bigboss97 wrote:1) Old fonts of existing project have to be replaced.