This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

render waiting forever on linux snap install

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
EinHexenMeister
Registered Member
running kubuntu 1604 on intel NUC i5 16GB and mint 19 with kde desktop on amd 8 core 32GB

the distro versions are helplessly out of date, but render, just being old
i like to use newer versions and therefore i installed the latest available snap version and get "waiting" on render on both machines ... tried a few render outputs, all the same ... same project renders on distro version on nuc, haven't tried on amd ... have to say, i'm no expert on movie editing and not a linux command line genius either

downloaded latest apimage version and it renders on both machines

now is the question, why does the snap release not render and hangs ... i would prefer snap over appimage but for now i don't really have a choice

cheers Klaus
kunovwd
Registered Member
EinHexenMeister wrote:running kubuntu 1604 on intel NUC i5 16GB and mint 19 with kde desktop on amd 8 core 32GB

the distro versions are helplessly out of date, but render, just being old
i like to use newer versions and therefore i installed the latest available snap version and get "waiting" on render on both machines ... tried a few render outputs, all the same ... same project renders on distro version on nuc, haven't tried on amd ... have to say, i'm no expert on movie editing and not a linux command line genius either

downloaded latest apimage version and it renders on both machines

now is the question, why does the snap release not render and hangs ... i would prefer snap over appimage but for now i don't really have a choice

cheers Klaus

Hi,

I'm using Kubuntu 18.04 and my older KDEnlive crashed (unknown reason). So i install KDEnlive version 19.08.2 with snap and now, the rendering does'nt run.
Before i install new version, i deinstall old version via apt.