This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Screencasting and Kdenlive, questions and ideas

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
fuzzyp
Registered Member
I just made the jump to full time LInux, Mint Cinnamon for me, and now I have to recreate a workflow like I had on my Mac for making screencasts. I'm a teacher and I'm on distance teaching for the rest of the year, so I'll be using lots of video with my students.

I had settled on doing the screen recording in Simple Screen Recorder (SSR) and bringing that video in to Kdenlive. Then doing video edits, titling, callouts(?!), audio enhancement (minor), and rendering.

While exploring today I came across the Capture feature and I was so excited, until I ran into the problem others have had. X264 mute works, but if you change it to X264 with audio, you cannot select a mic, and if you try to capture it either doesn't start, or it starts and crashes. Capture crashes NOT Kdenlive.

Is this an issue that is unlikely to be solved soon and I should stick to SSR?

This might be where I contribute, I have a big vested interest in making this feature better. However, if it's not a key part of Kdenlive and not likely to get engineer eyes to fix it soon, I'll keep on my SSR capture path. I would be happy to do some testing for this though.

To others who do Screencasting and use Kdenlive for some part of it, I'd love to hear your workflow, what works great, what to avoid.

While I know my initial takes are good quality, I have good tools, a sound dampened space, I do want to add titling and call outs, and enhance the audio at least a little bit.
Merlimau
Registered Member
Just made a test on Windows with screengrab including audio. It works. I have to make sure the correct audio input is selected under windows.

Screengrab use FFMPEG so make sure the path is set correct under setting -> environment.