This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Kubuntu 20.04 / Kdenlive much slower rendering?

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
PhobosTech
Registered Member
Hello,

This is my first post here. I've been using both Kdenlive for nearly 6 years now. I ran into a bit of a mystery with the release of Focal Fossa. Every LTS release, I do a full re-install from scratch. It usually takes me a week to get everything back up to snuff.

Previously, I was running Kubuntu 19.10 and Kdenlive 19. For a 1920x1080 "movie" with transparent overlays, and a little icon animation, over GoPro 4 video. Original frame-rate is 47.952fps, but I ... just realized I should probably change that, huh. Anyway, what I was going to say was ... but I render it to 23.976. I keep it at full resolution (both audio and video) - and it normally took about 2.5 hours of render time per 1 hour of rendered video (is that slow? it feels sorta slow).

But now - after the upgrade to Fossa and Kdenlive 20; good hell, it takes like 10 hours for 1.3 hours of video.

After re-installing Kdenlive, I set all of my settings and parameters to what they were - but something is obviously taking a major toll on my render time.

Before you answer; just so you have a decent idea of where I stand as a user:
On an expertise scale from 1-10, I honestly sit at around 3-ish. 3.5 maybe. I'm not an expert by any means; but I am proficient, and I know how to use it for my needs. I'm also a software engineer, so you can go nuts on the lingo without feeling like you have to explain everything (that's more meant to be a relief for you).

This is my podcast intro, maybe you can better gauge where I am with kdenlive: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N4rWhiH18so