This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Drawing simple shapes? (arrows and lines mostly)

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
mytenrabbiterrors
Registered Member
I'm brand new to Kdenlive and I've not been able to find any resources describing how I might add simple shapes to my video. In particular, I'd like to place an arrow pointing to a particular spot on the screen for a few seconds. My videos are going to be mostly screen recordings of how to use various software, so being able to add arrows pointing to certain areas of the screen is very helpful.

What I've done is to create a title clip and import clip art (.svg files). But it is a bit cumbersome working with these objects. For example - as far as I can tell - the only way to rotate the object is to manually type in the rotation angle into the x, y and/or z rotation fields. Also, it appears I am stuck with the object's original color.

I can certainly make do with this procedure for my purposes, but before I make a habit of this workflow I wanted to make sure I'm on the right track. So, is this how it is generally done when adding arrows, lines, circles, etc.?
Theo
Registered Member
Hi there,
sorry for not only not being able to answer your question, but also asking another one: how did you import the svg? I can't find any way to do it when editing a title clip. And if I simply import the svg file, it comes as a solid rectangle.
Maybe it's a version thing? I'm using 19.12.3, what about you?

Thanks
berndmj
Registered Member
OS
mytenrabbiterrors wrote:I can certainly make do with this procedure for my purposes, but before I make a habit of this workflow I wanted to make sure I'm on the right track. So, is this how it is generally done when adding arrows, lines, circles, etc.?