This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Chroma colour select not working

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
bobajobabob
Registered Member

Chroma colour select not working

Wed Sep 23, 2020 9:19 am
Hi,

I'm just getting into video editing & Kdenlive so I'll preface this by saying "I might be doing something wrong!"

I've been playing with stock green screen video & image to try and learn chromakeying, but have come across an issue.

When I select the eye dropper / colour selection option, it just chooses black - no matter where I select on an image/vid.

Am I doing something wrong, or have I broken something by accident? Anyone else have this issue?

Cheers for any help and guidance you can offer.
bartoloni
OS
bobajobabob
Registered Member
Hi,

Thanks for the reply, but unfortunately not what I was asking (I probably described my problem poorly).

When I select the Chroma effect and try to use the colour picker - it does not work. No matter where I select (green background, blue trouser, pink skin etc) it just selects black as the colour to key to...

I don't know what I'm doing wrong, but I do what is in that video! (it just doesn't work for me!)
bartoloni
OS
what verison of Kdenlive on what OS?
bobajobabob
Registered Member

Re: Chroma colour select not working

Thu Sep 24, 2020 10:22 pm
Kdenlive version 20.08.01 installed via Flatpack

I'm using Linux via Chrome OS (could that be the problem somehow?)
bartoloni
OS
this is very strange.. i have no ideas.. are you picking the colour on the "project monitor? right?"
bobajobabob
Registered Member
haha - yes I am.

I have even tried from the clip monitor, from the project bin, from the menu bar and everywhere else! I just get black slected and not the colour below the dropper location.

Thanks for trying. I can manually select green from the preset options so did what I was trying to do, just wanted to see if I'm doing something wrong. I can live without for now though.