This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Splitting a video into separate files

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
carebo
Registered Member
First of all I am quite new to kdenlive, sorry for asking basic questions...
I am trying to split a large video file into several separate files, one file for each scene. So far I have managed to place guides in the project timeline at each of the scene starting points.

When I rendered the scenes with the "guide zone" option, I discovered that each rendered file contains one frame of the following scene at its end. Apparently, rendering a guide zone includes both start and end guides. Does this mean that for my purpose I'd have to set one guide at the end of a scene plus another one on the next frame for the start of the next scene?

Or is this a totally wrong approach to what I'm trying to get? How would you split one video into separate scene files?

Thanks!
carebo
Registered Member
I forgot to mention that I'm using kdenlive 20.08.2 on Kubuntu.
hgdrn
Registered Member
OS
carebo wrote:How would you split one video into separate scene files?

Drag the video to the timeline, drag the pointer to / stop the pointer at the cutting point, press Shift-R (or switch to scissors and click).
carebo
Registered Member
hgdrn wrote:
carebo wrote:How would you split one video into separate scene files?

Drag the video to the timeline, drag the pointer to / stop the pointer at the cutting point, press Shift-R (or switch to scissors and click).

Thanks for your reply! I have now cut the video into clips with Shift-R. How do I now export each clip into a different file?
hgdrn
Registered Member
OS
Press the red "Render" button. ;)

Reading the manual might be great help for you, too. https://userbase.kde.org/Kdenlive/Manual
carebo
Registered Member
hgdrn wrote:Press the red "Render" button. ;)