This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

from qt to kde?

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
papierschiff
Registered Member
Posts
18
Karma
0

from qt to kde?

Sun Nov 02, 2008 9:49 pm
hej,
i wrote in the past some small qt 3 programms for linux and windows. now i think to do something for the kde-community. but i wonderted that kde don't use qt it is "only" based on qt. so... can i write a programm with the kde-libs and will they also work on windows?

sorry for my newbie questions :)
papierschiff


papierschiff, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Nov.
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS

RE: from qt to kde?

Mon Nov 03, 2008 6:56 am
I think kdelibs is available for Windows, however you may need to manually configure all the Qt build systems to work ( not to mention install CMake the KDE build system )

The only difference between A KDE application and A Qt application is that KDE applications use KDE classes instead of Qt classes ( KApplication over QApplication, etc ). KDE applications also use KIO exclusively to access files, to support network transparency, never QFile and especially not QHttp or QFtp.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
User avatar
msoeken
Mentor
Posts
300
Karma
4
OS

RE: from qt to kde?

Mon Nov 03, 2008 8:32 am
papierschiff wrote:hej,
i wrote in the past some small qt 3 programms for linux and windows. now i think to do something for the kde-community. but i wonderted that kde don't use qt it is "only" based on qt. so... can i write a programm with the kde-libs and will they also work on windows?

sorry for my newbie questions :)
papierschiff


You can follow this thread http://lists.kde.org/?t=122356807000003&r=1&w=2. The question was how to convert a Qt4 application to KDE4. To convert your Qt3 application to Qt4, please read http://techbase.kde.org/Development/Tutorials/KDE4_Porting_Guide and/or http://doc.trolltech.com/4.4/porting4.html.

You do not have to apologize for your questions ;)

Cheers, m


Image
[size=x-small]code | [url=cia.vc/stats/author/msoeken]cia.vc[/url] | [url=kde.org/support]donating KDE[/url] | [url=tinyurl.com/cto4ns]wishlist[/url][/size]
User avatar
anda_skoa
KDE Developer
Posts
783
Karma
4
OS

RE: from qt to kde?

Mon Nov 03, 2008 2:58 pm
bcooksley wrote:I think kdelibs is available for Windows, however you may need to manually configure all the Qt build systems to work ( not to mention install CMake the KDE build system )


I think the KDE Windows developers have that prepackaged, even the development versions.

They might also have information on how to use their installer framework which can do dependency resolution quite like a Linux package manager.

Cheers,
_


anda_skoa, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
papierschiff
Registered Member
Posts
18
Karma
0

RE: from qt to kde?

Fri Nov 07, 2008 5:41 pm
hej,
thanks for you answers. so if i want to develop programms which i can easily use on linux and windows it will be better to write qt-programms? and than perhaps port the programms to kde? this sounds not nice :(

lg
papierschiff


papierschiff, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Nov.
User avatar
Brandybuck
KDE Developer
Posts
203
Karma
0
OS

RE: from qt to kde?

Fri Nov 07, 2008 6:09 pm
I'm a bit of a heretic on this issue, but in my opinion, if the app doesn't need KDE additions, then keep it vanilla Qt. And if you do make it KDE, keep all the extras to a minimum. A plain vanilla Qt app is still going to integrate nicely into your KDE desktop.

Qt on Windows and Mac (and Unix) is rock solid. KDE on Windows and Mac is buggy and hard to install for the end user. That's not the politically correct answer, so I'm sure I'll be flamed for it, but the truth is that KDE should not be your first (or second) choice for a crossplatform development environment.


Don't look back! (Or you might see the giants whose shoulders we stand on)
papierschiff
Registered Member
Posts
18
Karma
0

RE: from qt to kde?

Fri Nov 07, 2008 6:39 pm
the problem with qt-programm is, that they look very ugly in kde, special when you use other colors etc... i like to programm who looks best in kde and are stille usable on windows...


papierschiff, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Nov.
User avatar
msoeken
Mentor
Posts
300
Karma
4
OS

RE: from qt to kde?

Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:57 pm
Seems that there is not "the only one answer". You have to find a good trade off between good integration to KDE and solid crossplatform integration.


Image
[size=x-small]code | [url=cia.vc/stats/author/msoeken]cia.vc[/url] | [url=kde.org/support]donating KDE[/url] | [url=tinyurl.com/cto4ns]wishlist[/url][/size]
User avatar
Brandybuck
KDE Developer
Posts
203
Karma
0
OS

RE: from qt to kde?

Fri Nov 07, 2008 9:19 pm
papierschiff wrote:the problem with qt-programm is, that they look very ugly in kde, special when you use other colors etc... i like to programm who looks best in kde and are stille usable on windows...


Then you must have something setup wrong on your system. Take a look at your configuration, something is messed up. I find it very hard to distinguish plain vanilla Qt4 apps from KDE4 apps. Qt4 will use KDE's color scheme and widget style, and even alters parts of dialog layouts to match. The only thing that isn't shared is the icon theme, but there are ways to do that outside of Qt.


Don't look back! (Or you might see the giants whose shoulders we stand on)
papierschiff
Registered Member
Posts
18
Karma
0

RE: from qt to kde?

Fri Nov 07, 2008 9:32 pm
@brandybuck? hm... but where is my mistake? when i took the standard hello-world programms (from qt / kde) the kde-programm looks dark (like the kde-color-sheme) and the qt looks boring typical grey. icons won't be a problem.


papierschiff, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Nov.
User avatar
anda_skoa
KDE Developer
Posts
783
Karma
4
OS

RE: from qt to kde?

Sat Nov 08, 2008 11:43 am
papierschiff wrote:hej,
thanks for you answers. so if i want to develop programms which i can easily use on linux and windows it will be better to write qt-programms? and than perhaps port the programms to kde? this sounds not nice :(


It really depends on the application.

The KDE application platform offers a lot of things which might or might not be important for your specific application.

I do both KDE and Qt-only development and one has to use KDE APIs to actually experience what one is missing out on when just using Qt.
There is a reason why even Trolltech incorporates KDE developed software like Phonon in its most recent versions.

But as I said above, it really depends on your application.
It is always possible to do Qt-only, but it often requires doing things on your own that KDE has already implemented for you.

Cheers,
_


anda_skoa, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar
Brandybuck
KDE Developer
Posts
203
Karma
0
OS

RE: from qt to kde?

Sat Nov 08, 2008 6:29 pm
papierschiff wrote:@brandybuck? hm... but where is my mistake? when i took the standard hello-world programms (from qt / kde) the kde-programm looks dark (like the kde-color-sheme) and the qt looks boring typical grey. icons won't be a problem.


In Colors configuration, there is a checkbox that says "Apply colors to non-KDE apps". As for the style, Qt should be picking it up automatically. Unfortunately I've run across some installations where this is not happening, and I'm not sure why. But the Oxygen style should still be available. Run the "qtconfig" utility to set the default style for Qt apps.


Don't look back! (Or you might see the giants whose shoulders we stand on)


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], claydoh, Google [Bot], markhm, rblackwell, sethaaaa, Sogou [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]