This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Make a jpeg from cursor position in timeline with one click

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
egerlach
Registered Member
Posts
65
Karma
0
OS
Hello,
I spend much time making several jpg from cursor position in timeline. Aim is to freeze a motion state or if my 5 video trackes are already in use, to reduce the "stack". I there a fast way to make jpegs?

I know how to make jpeg's: set "zone in" and "zone out", shrink it to one pic, the render -> jpeg , selected zone -> render to file -> file manager -> rename -> import jpeg to project bin , ... a lot of steps! And "costs" of time! I want all steps in one function: function prompts a filename and jpeg is automatically inserted into project. I would make a $50 donation for that feature.

tia
Eckard
User avatar
bartoloni
Moderator
Posts
1510
Karma
4
OS
the only way to add a "FAST EXTRACTOR" is using the timeline cursor... but this cursor select a frame (rendered to preview) about all CLIPS in selected time/frame...
there are no other selection tool that can select a single frame... (using just mouse movements) .. this mean that the single frame that will be rendered (saved to disk?) has effects on it (transitions, texts... color changes)

something like that:
Image
egerlach
Registered Member
Posts
65
Karma
0
OS
I don't understand, sorry.
I think you want to say that "fast extract cursor position" to jpeg does not exist. So I offer $50 for a project (plugin?) that offers that.

Maybe a plugin executes a command in a special title clip using key text "|extr_jpeg| " in a text field. Add the plugin to that title clip , then the first frame that this touched by that title clip is exported to jpeg automatically. Is that possible? - Look at typewriter plugin, that I pushed with a donation, it uses |^|:c[3]{ the lazy dog jumps over the cat }|$| to make that text typed. The program code starting with |extr_jpeg| just extracts first frame, prompts a name and inserts the jpeg to project bin. Possible? - I'll ask author of typewriter plugin soon ...
fizyk
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
Bit old but as @egerlach called me also, I reply.

I don't know how it was in 2019 but now there is a context menu in the clip monitor, which exports frame to file or to file and to project. See attached figure.
Image
https://imgshare.io/images/2020/11/16/e ... ontext.png (reload page if it says that image doesn't exists)

But if you like to have it in the timeline context menu, here is a simple patch which add this to the timeline
Code: Select all
diff -Naur a/src/mainwindow.cpp b/src/mainwindow.cpp
--- a/src/mainwindow.cpp 2020-11-17 01:40:42.890052758 +0100
+++ b/src/mainwindow.cpp 2020-11-17 02:02:28.365989421 +0100
@@ -550,6 +550,8 @@
     timelineClipMenu->addAction(actionCollection()->action(QStringLiteral("clip_switch")));
     timelineClipMenu->addAction(actionCollection()->action(QStringLiteral("delete_timeline_clip")));
     timelineClipMenu->addAction(actionCollection()->action(QStringLiteral("extract_clip")));
+    timelineClipMenu->addAction(actionCollection()->action(QStringLiteral("extract_frame")));
+    timelineClipMenu->addAction(actionCollection()->action(QStringLiteral("extract_frame_to_project")));
     timelineClipMenu->addAction(actionCollection()->action(QStringLiteral("save_to_bin")));
 
     QMenu *markerMenu = static_cast<QMenu *>(factory()->container(QStringLiteral("marker_menu"), this));
@@ -1805,10 +1807,10 @@
 
     // monitor actions
     addAction(QStringLiteral("extract_frame"), i18n("Extract frame..."), pCore->monitorManager(), SLOT(slotExtractCurrentFrame()),
-              QIcon::fromTheme(QStringLiteral("insert-image")));
+              QIcon::fromTheme(QStringLiteral("insert-image")), Qt::SHIFT + Qt::Key_F);
 
     addAction(QStringLiteral("extract_frame_to_project"), i18n("Extract frame to project..."), pCore->monitorManager(),
-              SLOT(slotExtractCurrentFrameToProject()), QIcon::fromTheme(QStringLiteral("insert-image")));
+              SLOT(slotExtractCurrentFrameToProject()), QIcon::fromTheme(QStringLiteral("insert-image")), Qt::CTRL+Qt::Key_F);
 }
 
 void MainWindow::saveOptions()

Additionally I added shortcuts to make the process even faster, no redundant mouse clicks ;-)

It looks like
Image
https://imgshare.io/images/2020/11/16/k ... meline.png (reload page if it says that image doesn't exists)

You must apply the patch during compilation of Kdenlive.
User avatar
bartoloni
Moderator
Posts
1510
Karma
4
OS
this can be very usefull! can you suggest the patches on https://invent.kde.org/multimedia/kdenlive/-/issues (adding the 2 images)
fizyk
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: bancha, Bing [Bot], daret, Evergrowing, Google [Bot], sandyvee, Sogou [Bot]