This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Newbie: How do I "change it to 'mlt_profile'"?

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
AlexK
Registered Member
Posts
31
Karma
0
kdenlive: Version 0.8.1 (rev. 5725)
Using KDE Development Platform 4.4.5 (KDE 4.4.5)
OS: AV Linux 5.0 (Debian Squeeze)

Completed my first 1 minute masterpiece & wish to render to file. Cannot!

Clips: DV .avi files in DV PAL 16:9 format
Render: AVI DV | DV PAL 16:9

Choosing that option gives an error message at the bottom of the screen, plus the `Render to File' button stays greyed out:

"This render profile uses a 'profile' parameter"
"Unless you know what you are doing you will probably have to change it to 'mlt_profile'"

Pressing the `i' button shows:

"f=avi vcodec=dvvideo pix_fmt=yuv420p acodec=pcm_s16le s=720x576 profile=dv_pal_wide"

I assume that this is a ffmpeg command string.

I'm most willing to do what it asks me to, but how? And what!?
The `Edit profile' button is greyed out.
No info anywhere on this site nor elsewhere on what the problem is, let alone how to fix it.

Help, please.
AlexK
Registered Member
Posts
31
Karma
0
Looks like I've found it within RenderWidget::refreshView() within src/renderwidget.cpp. See:
http://www.mltframework.org/gitweb/mlt.git?p=mltframework.org/mlt.git;a=commit;h=d8a3a5c9190646aae72048f71a39ee7446a3bd45

("Change consumer 'profile' property to 'mlt_profile'")

if (std.contains(" profile=") || std.startsWith("profile=")) {
// changed in MLT commit d8a3a5c9190646aae72048f71a39ee7446a3bd45
dupItem->setToolTip(i18n("This render profile uses a 'profile' parameter.
Unless you know what you are doing you will probably have to change it to 'mlt_profile'."));
dupItem->setIcon(warningIcon);
}

That change was committed on 7 Jun 2011. I started my little project under kdenlive v0.8. I assume that the project I'm using points at old resources. The problem now is to know where the f*ck to find those resources. Did it occur to give a nice simple means to change the project, update it to latest version? I'm getting annoyed now...
AlexK
Registered Member
Posts
31
Karma
0
The render profile file is located:

src: kdenlive/export/profiles.xml (contains correct `mlt_profile=')
0.8.1 code: 20110622/share/apps/kdenlive/export/profiles.xml (contains correct `mlt_profile=')
0.8 code: /usr/share/kde4/apps/kdenlive/export/profiles.xml (contains incorrect `profile=')

We therefore need to know why the latest-code running copy of kdenlive--launched with the script file `20110622/start-kdenlive'--is being pointed at the old render profile file.
AlexK
Registered Member
Posts
31
Karma
0
bug report:
http://www.kdenlive.org/mantis/view.php?id=2190
AlexK
Registered Member
Posts
31
Karma
0
Managed to fix it. Got as much assistance on the bug-report as I got on these forums. The bug itself remains as an issue for all updates using the builder script.

Full detail in the bug-report. In brief:

1 The `kdenliverc' rc file needs amending, as it points to the old paths
2 The KDE config data will also point to the old `profiles.xml' (which contains the profiles used during rendering), and is the cause of this specific issue.

My local config dir ($HOME/.kde/share/apps/kdenlive/export) was empty, so I placed a symlink to the new file at $HOME/kdenlive/20110622/share/apps/kdenlive/export/profiles.xml ...and it now worked. That symlink will currently need changing on every update.
moorsey
Registered Member
Posts
149
Karma
0
You did only post it 1 day ago, there are bug reports much older than that with no fix or developer attention, as with all of these projects, limited man hours to go around.

Looks like you know what your doing though, so could probably lend a hand around here
AlexK
Registered Member
Posts
31
Karma
0
@moorsey: "there are bug reports much older than that with no fix or developer attention"

Hi moorsey, thanks for a response.

I'm getting grumpy in my old age, so I had better not respond to that.

I'm trying to help, putting up the fixes as I find them.

The important issue here is that there is a hole in the `Builder Wizard' (which I think an excellent piece of work, btw), and folks need to attend to that until--if--it gets fixed. If I knew more about KDE--this is my first time using it--I would post a permanent fix that could easily be incorporated into the original product.


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: bartoloni, Bing [Bot], Evergrowing, Google [Bot], ourcraft