This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

How to debug Kdenlive and MLT?

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
User avatar
qubodup
Registered Member
Posts
142
Karma
0

How to debug Kdenlive and MLT?

Thu Dec 17, 2015 1:31 am
I have problems with movit (gpu acceleration) and would like to debug Kdenlive and MLT.

I use the -git versions of both on Arch Linux, using the AUR user packages kdenlive-git (build script) and mlt-git (build script)

To build debug versions, I changed kdenlive's cmake call to:
Code: Select all
  cmake ../kdenlive \
    -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Debug \
    -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr \
    -DLIB_INSTALL_DIR=lib \
    -DKDE_INSTALL_USE_QT_SYS_PATHS=ON \
    -DBUILD_TESTING=OFF

and MLT's ./configure call to:

Code: Select all
    ./configure \
        --enable-debug \
        --prefix=/usr \
        --avformat-swscale \
        --enable-gpl \
        --enable-gpl3 \
        --qt-libdir=/usr/lib \
        --qt-includedir=/usr/include/qt


However, after installation of the two, there seems to be not much of a difference in the command line output or gdb backtraces.

Did I do something wrong? Do I have to use QtCreator?
User avatar
Steve Guilford
Registered Member
Posts
207
Karma
0

Re: How to debug Kdenlive and MLT?

Thu Dec 17, 2015 4:51 pm
You'd be better of using KDevelop to develop and debug. Running GDB from the command line and going about things that way is akin to shoving splinters under your fingernails. Eclipse is usable but KDevelop seems to be better for C++/QT based development - from my experience.

KDevelop does not unpack objects well when examining variable values but it is workable (Eclipse has the same problem). You may have to add code here and there to make it easier for you to see values when stepping through sections of code that you are working with. The problem lies w/ KDevelops inability to utilize introspection properly when examining referenced objects.

To create a KDevelop project, open the top level CMakeLists.txt file.

Another trick that could help, especially if you are debugging Movit via MLT, is to create a script, using Kdenlive, so that you can run MLT directly - thus bypassing Kdenlive. That will help to speed up your development/debug cycle.
vpinon
KDE Developer
Posts
708
Karma
6
OS

Re: How to debug Kdenlive and MLT?

Thu Dec 17, 2015 9:32 pm
I use KDevelop, but find QtCreator fine as well. To just generate & navigate in backtrace, gdb by command line is enough.

Maybe you could share a backtrace so that we understand what's missing ?

Finally, if it's movit that you want to debug, check that you have debug symbols for that lib...
User avatar
farid
Registered Member
Posts
316
Karma
2
OS

Re: How to debug Kdenlive and MLT?

Sun Jan 24, 2016 10:14 am
try adding:

Code: Select all
options=(debug !strip)


to the PKGBUILD and see if it helps.




Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Evergrowing, Google [Bot]