This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

[Feature Request] From a filmmaker/offline-editor

Tags: kdenlive kdenlive kdenlive
(comma "," separated)
truception
Registered Member
Dear KdenLive team,

I hope you are all well and healthy through this tough time.

I am a filmmaker - screenwriter/director/editor. I am based in Sài Gòn, Việt Nam. It is very strange introduce myself as such when the whole industry (and the world) is at a stand still in effort to battle against Covid-19.

Less than a month ago, due to frustration of WindowOS keeps crashing for no apparent reason, I have been discovering the GNU/Linux and the open source community.
My guess is that the rest of the world will very soon discover Linux by the announcement of the Steam Deck just a couple of days ago.

I mostly use Adobe Premiere because it is everywhere. Generally, in the world of proprietary software, NLE software all have similar tools to do similar things. It takes only a few days (maximum a week) to get things set up and running switching between software.
However, I am struggling to move my offline-editing workflow to Linux.

I have look through and try most of the NLE for Linux and thought KdenLive have the best chance of becoming the NLE of choice for professional editor.

You have pretty much everything right. The layout is clean and very flexible. ffmpeg is quite a beast of a program.
I am learning to code and can barely imagine the enormous amount effort that must have poured in this project for KdenLive to be at this level.
But there are crucial features that needed for professional work.
My guess is that you have very little feedback from a professional editor in order to develop the software and take it to the next level. Thus I thought I might share my thought on the feature that is needed for me (and probably most pro-editor) to choose KdenLive on Linux for professional work.

1) Swap clips