This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

[Idea - Proposal] - A Plank dock alternative for Plasma

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
psifidotos
Registered Member
OS
Hello everyone,

this is an idea that appeared by using my Plasma desktop and trying to making it simple and elegant...

this is my desktop:

all of it, is Plasma except the panel on the left which is called Plank and is trying to mimic a mac dock way to show your tasks-windows
(I never had a mac so I dont know how is the experience :-) ).

Plank is good and I like its approach of simple configurations and only basic features for doing the job but Plank is not Plasma under its technology...
(it isnt plasma theme agnostic, Activities agnostic, based on Qt)

I thought that I could create something in order to test in QML how this could be done. I am a developer and in the past I was maintaining the WorkFlow Plasmoid for Plasma 4.

Plasma 5 is a much friendlier development environment and things are maturing day by day for the long run (concerning Wayland also).

So this is the mockup qml dock (I dont know how to name it yet)

and you can download all the code from here, it is pretty small actually:
DropBox link

you can test it, inside Plasma, executing the following command in the extracted directory:
Code: Select all
qmlscene main.qml

This is where this effort stands out until now and I would like a lot your feedback:
  1. From visual and design perspective how could this fit better in Plasma.
  2. I dont know how some of the features can be supported as a plasmoid or a kwin script so in some point I would need some guidance from the community.

Phase 1:
  • create a mock qml dock for testing purposes

Phase 2:
  • decide if this should be a plamoid (added in a panel for example) or kwin script and what are the drawback in each case
  • connect with the current task manager in order to show tasks and access them