This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

plasma 5 on centos 7

Tags: centos 7, plasma 5, source centos 7, plasma 5, source centos 7, plasma 5, source
(comma "," separated)
User avatar
ahoffman
Registered Member
Posts
21
Karma
0
OS

Re: plasma 5 on centos 7

Thu Mar 31, 2016 9:18 pm
I appreciate the feedback. As they say, two heads are better than one. 8)

Looking at this hint in the first error log:

Code: Select all
CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:62 (find_package):
Could not find a package configuration file provided by "Phonon4Qt5"
(requested version 4.6.60) with any of the following names:

Phonon4Qt5Config.cmake
phonon4qt5-config.cmake

Add the installation prefix of "Phonon4Qt5" to CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH or set
"Phonon4Qt5_DIR" to a directory containing one of the above files. If
"Phonon4Qt5" provides a separate development package or SDK, be sure it has
been installed.


I found that `Phonon4Qt5Config.cmake` does exist in the phonon build directory `/opt/kde/build/phonon/`. The log (as above) says "requested version 4.6.60", so I opened the file to see if the version matched and it doesn't. Source below:

Code: Select all
# config file for phonon library

# known at buildtime
set(PHONON_VERSION "4.8.51")

get_filename_component(currentDir ${CMAKE_CURRENT_LIST_FILE} PATH) # get the directory where I myself am
get_filename_component(rootDir ${currentDir}/../../../ ABSOLUTE) # get the chosen install prefix


set(PHONON_NO_GRAPHICSVIEW true)
set(PHONON_PULSESUPPORT TRUE)
set(PHONON_FIND_EXPERIMENTAL ON)
set(PHONON_QT_COMPAT_HEADERS OFF)

# install locations
set(PHONON_INCLUDE_DIR "${rootDir}/include/phonon4qt5")

set(PHONON_LIBRARY_DIR "${rootDir}/lib64")
set(PHONON_BUILDSYSTEM_DIR "/opt/kde/install/share/phonon4qt5/buildsystem/")
set(PHONON_LIB_SONAME "phonon4qt5")

if(NOT TARGET Phonon::phonon4qt5)
  include(${currentDir}/PhononTargets.cmake)
endif()

set(PHONON_LIBRARY Phonon::phonon4qt5)

# Find Experimental.

# Iff it was specified as component we require it.
# Else if we built with it we try to find it quietly.
# The latter part is to provide backwards compatibility as a simple finding of
# Phonon would also drag in experimental. To simulate this we'll look for it
# silenetly while not failing if it was not found. Ultimately it was the
# config consumer's responsibility to check if experimental was actually found.
# So nothing changes there. Config consumers can however now use it as a
# component to force an error when it isn't available.
if("${Phonon4Qt5_FIND_COMPONENTS}" MATCHES ".*(Experimental|experimental).*")
    find_package(Phonon4Qt5Experimental ${PHONON_VERSION} EXACT CONFIG REQUIRED
                 PATHS ${currentDir}
                 NO_DEFAULT_PATH)
elseif(PHONON_FIND_EXPERIMENTAL)
    find_package(Phonon4Qt5Experimental ${PHONON_VERSION} EXACT CONFIG QUIET
                 PATHS ${currentDir}
                 NO_DEFAULT_PATH)
endif()

# Convenience.
set(PHONON_LIBRARIES ${PHONON_LIBRARY} ${PHONON_EXPERIMENTAL_LIBRARY})
# The following one is only for compatiblity
set(PHONON_LIBS ${PHONON_LIBRARIES})
set(PHONON_INCLUDES ${PHONON_INCLUDE_DIR} ${PHONON_INCLUDE_DIR}/KDE)
if (PHONON_QT_COMPAT_HEADERS)
    list(APPEND PHONON_INCLUDES ${PHONON_INCLUDE_DIR}/Phonon)
endif()

# Find Internal is included in the backends' finders rather than here.
# http://lists.kde.org/?l=kde-multimedia&m=135934335320148&w=2


I don't know if this is the cause of the build failure, but as you can see, requested phonon version 4.6.60 doesn't match the version specified in the Phonon4Qt5Config.cmake file.
User avatar
google01103
Manager
Posts
6668
Karma
25

Re: plasma 5 on centos 7

Thu Mar 31, 2016 10:00 pm
have you followed https://community.kde.org/Guidelines_an ... rom_source ?

suggest you contact progdan http://www.dvratil.cz/ as it appears he would be the one most familiar with doing this on Fedora and as he has 5.6 in beta form you could just add the noted repos from his posting "PLASMA 5.6 BETA AVAILABLE ON FEDORA"


OpenSuse Leap 42.1 x64, Plasma 5.x

User avatar
ahoffman
Registered Member
Posts
21
Karma
0
OS

Re: plasma 5 on centos 7

Fri Apr 01, 2016 7:39 am
Yes, I have been using those guidelines. 8-)

Cheers for the referral, perhaps progdan will point me in the right direction.
User avatar
ahoffman
Registered Member
Posts
21
Karma
0
OS

Re: plasma 5 on centos 7

Sat Apr 02, 2016 3:47 pm
It turned out to be a multiarch issue of sorts. yum-builddeps was showing all dependencies as met when they actually weren't. I had pulseaudio-libs-devel.i686 but was missing pulseaudio-libs-devel.x86_64.

Now frameworks have built smoothly right up to 'frameworkintegration', and I'm now better equipped to debug other such cross-compilation errors. Should be easy... (fingers crossed) 8-)
Aloysius
Registered Member
Posts
2
Karma
0

Re: plasma 5 on centos 7

Tue Apr 05, 2016 10:11 am
Hi there -

I just registered to say thanks! On centos7 with epel-testing enabled I can build 99% of git master branch using kdesrc-build, and plasma runs great on centos7!

I needed (from epel-testing) Cmake. It's a bit unintuitive, but the maintainer has chosen to rename it to cmake3, so you need to alias all calls to 'cmake' > cmake3. Perhaps kde will support this later.

also installed qt-5.6 (not required - qt5.5 is already in epel)

Somewhat painfully I needed wayland1.7+. I found it from a copr by jmliger (gnome3.16 backports). mesa-libwayland included)

basically* from there 120 of 121 packages in the kf5-frameworks and kf5-workspace build and run.
User avatar
ahoffman
Registered Member
Posts
21
Karma
0
OS

Re: plasma 5 on centos 7

Wed Apr 06, 2016 3:33 pm
Hey Aloysius, that's great news, grats!

I've been making progress, albeit slow as I've haven't had much time to dedicate. All frameworks compile successfully but I haven't gotten all the workspace modules working yet.

I'm 112/121 built atm.
User avatar
rdieter
Registered Member
Posts
36
Karma
0
OS

Re: plasma 5 on centos 7

Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:09 pm
progdan wrote:... First I need to import Frameworks into EPEL, but that is currently blocked on some missing dependencies, so I need to solve that first. Sorry it's all taking so long.


I can now happily report that KF5 builds are now on their way to EPEL-7 testing repositories:

KF5 : https://bodhi.fedoraproject.org/updates ... f057025262

and some prerequisite dependencies:

phonon-qt5 : https://bodhi.fedoraproject.org/updates ... 8e9b956ff2
dbusmenu-qt5 : https://bodhi.fedoraproject.org/updates ... c6830d3eb1
polkit-qt5-1 : https://bodhi.fedoraproject.org/updates ... 83b0af5ec7
User avatar
ahoffman
Registered Member
Posts
21
Karma
0
OS

Re: plasma 5 on centos 7

Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:47 pm
rdieter wrote:
progdan wrote:... First I need to import Frameworks into EPEL, but that is currently blocked on some missing dependencies, so I need to solve that first. Sorry it's all taking so long.


I can now happily report that KF5 builds are now on their way to EPEL-7 testing repositories:

KF5 : https://bodhi.fedoraproject.org/updates ... f057025262

and some prerequisite dependencies:

phonon-qt5 : https://bodhi.fedoraproject.org/updates ... 8e9b956ff2
dbusmenu-qt5 : https://bodhi.fedoraproject.org/updates ... c6830d3eb1
polkit-qt5-1 : https://bodhi.fedoraproject.org/updates ... 83b0af5ec7


I'm not entirely sure what this means, but it sounds like excellent news! ;D I have built everything I need from 'kf5-workspace' and 'kf5-frameworks' except for the plasma-desktop itself, which at present escapes me. I guess I should wait. ???
User avatar
ahoffman
Registered Member
Posts
21
Karma
0
OS

Re: plasma 5 on centos 7

Sun Apr 10, 2016 3:51 pm
Finally built successfully! xD
Alloysious
Registered Member
Posts
2
Karma
0

Re: plasma 5 on centos 7

Tue Apr 12, 2016 10:04 am
so - have you been able to build plasma against the epel-testing packages?

I've tried with kdesrc-build running include kf5-workspace-build-include which builds plasma workspace,etc which seems to build but...

I've set my kde (KF5) dir to /usr/ so it installs along side the repo-provided frameworks, however trying to log in to the installed gdm "plasma" option I simply get a black screen of death with no warnings/windows (but i have kde cursor!). Also, no combination of keyboard escapes will let me back to terminal.... so its yanking the power cord from the wall unfortunately.

A bit strange that it seems to be having path problems since /bin and /lib64 etc are definetly in my path. Wish I knew more about gdm ( or how to use sddm on el7).

Had any experience with installing into /usr/ ?
User avatar
ahoffman
Registered Member
Posts
21
Karma
0
OS

Re: plasma 5 on centos 7

Thu Apr 14, 2016 7:01 am
Alloysius, are you also the Aloysius (single 'l') who posted above?

I installed to /opt

I had the same black screen with plasma cursor and resolved it here.

Hope this helps.
Alloysious
Registered Member
Posts
2
Karma
0

Re: plasma 5 on centos 7

Fri Apr 15, 2016 9:25 am
Hi -

yes both are me but due to some insane logic, KDE forums username is not your login name, nor your account name, and there is no way to recover your account password on KDE forums with only your forum name (!!)

:sigh:

yes - I've used the runPlasma.sh script to test plasma that I built in /opt/ and that works fine. I'm more asking about why plasma5 fails to run when you use the default /usr/share/xsessions/plasma.desktop with the default target /usr/bin/startkde (which exists and is installed by plasma5).

In the mean time I await plasma5 copr from progdan with baited breath
hughjazz
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0

Re: plasma 5 on centos 7

Fri Jun 17, 2016 6:14 am
Since a lot of the packages made it to epel, i wanted to check if there's any progress on this. Is there a repo for getting the Plasma 5 desktop working now ? Is the goal to have everything in epel eventually ?
mathews
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0

Re: plasma 5 on centos 7

Sat Jul 09, 2016 6:16 pm
Hi,

Kde 5.7 is out for most of the distros, any chance it will be available to Cent OS/RHEL community? I can't see any package update on Cent OS through EPEL. Really looking forward.

Thanks

~Alan
User avatar
ahoffman
Registered Member
Posts
21
Karma
0
OS

Re: plasma 5 on centos 7

Wed Aug 10, 2016 2:50 pm
Any update on this yet? :)


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Sogou [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]