This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Black desktop on login with plasmashell crash

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
thePhysicist
Registered Member
I'm fairly new to Linux in general, so bear with me!

On a fresh install of Plasma 5.2 on Kubuntu 14.10, I'm getting a black screen on login.
  • The login screen is unaffected.
  • Once logged in: I can still move the mouse, but the entire screen is black with the exception of the panel (which is blank).
  • Before this started, plasmashell would crash randomly.
  • Trying to restart plasmashell via console (Ctrl+Alt+F1-6) returns "qxcbConnection could not connect to display"
  • Using "export DISPLAY=0:" causes it to return "qxcbConnection could not connect to display 0:"
  • Trying to run other programs via console gives a similar result
  • Programs that were running before the issue started still launch when I log back in.
  • KSysGuard (one of said programs) shows plasmashell running on login, but it stops when I mouse over the panel.
  • Resetting my /home directory fixes the issue, but it comes back after a few days
  • Reinstalling Kubuntu (excluding /home partition) doesn't fix it
  • Logging in as another user works fine
  • Uninstalling Nvidia drivers and using open-source ones doesn't fix it

I would assume this has something to do with a config setting somewhere, but I can't figure out what specifically is causing the problem. This has happened each time I've reinstalled. The first time took a week, and the second only a day or two. I can't think of anything specific that I was doing at the time except for maybe playing with ALSA?

I'm out of ideas. Any help would be appreciated!
google01103
Manager
couple things to try to isolate the problem

1) rename your Kwin config then restart kwin with
Code: Select all
mv ~/.config/kwinrc ~/.config/kwinrc-old && kwin_x11 --replace

2) move your plasma files then restart Plasma forcing a return to the defaults