This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

plasma "disappeared"

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
giuseppesavo
Registered Member

plasma "disappeared"

Sun May 10, 2015 3:56 pm
hi everybody,

I'm new in KDE, so I don't know exactly how to explain my problem.

I'm using kubuntu 15.04, with plasma 5. After an update that involved the installation of ms fonts and a new linux kernel, plasma "disappeared".

I can use the pc, the pc starts, ask me for user name and password, charges something (I see the splash screen with the icon of KDE and the bar loading), but the "desktop" is black.
I was able to use the pc because when it happened I had dolphin open, and I can start from ther the terminal, so I can use every software.

Well, what can I do to restart plasma desktop?

kstart plasma-desktop doesn't work.

trying to enter in "failsafe" status doesn't work: after few seconds I obtain again the window with login box.

8-)
google01103
Manager

Re: plasma "disappeared"

Sun May 10, 2015 4:21 pm
the command plasma-desktop is KDE 4 specific, try using plasmashell
best practice would be to make sure it is not running and if it is kill it and then start it again

Code: Select all
kquitapp plasmashell && sleep 5 && plasmashell

OpenSuse Leap 42.1 x64, Plasma 5.x

giuseppesavo
Registered Member

Sun May 10, 2015 4:31 pm
nothing...

the answer is in italian, so I will translate

kquitapp(7620): "impossible to find the application plasmashell using the service org.kde.plasmashell ed the path /MainApplication."
google01103
Manager

Sun May 10, 2015 5:34 pm
try killing it with ksysguard then run it, kquitapp works fine for me

also see the thread viewtopic.php?f=289&t=125034

giuseppesavo
Registered Member

Sun May 10, 2015 5:50 pm
plasmashell doesn't appear in the list in ksysguard.

I'm reading the thread you linked.
giuseppesavo
Registered Member

Sun May 10, 2015 6:03 pm
trying with a simple "plasmashell" I obtained this...