This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Assign Virtual Desktops to separate monitors

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
bhuyanr
Registered Member
Hi,
I do apologize if this has been asked before but I was just wondering if plasma 5 allows to assign a virtual desktops to separate screens like some of the window managers.
I am a complete linux newbie and tried some window managers before settling on plasma this seems to be the only feature that I kind of miss.
I am not from a computer science background so I do apologize again if I am missing any critical information I need to provide with this thread. Happy to add later if and as required.
Thanks
koffeinfriedhof
Registered Member
OS
Hi!

The „native“ way would be using activities and switching between them. You can set up every application to be on every activity, or choose some with right clicking the window bar and choose More Actions → Configure Special Application Settings, which will lead you to systemsettings5 → Window Management → Window Rules.

To only use virtual desktops (which are available in all activities) you can use the More Actions → Configure Special Window Settings and add a Property for the virtual desktop.

Another way would be to use a tiling window manager to have better control of the display space usage. There are scripts for KWin too, but I didn't use them much as I prefer other concepts for tiling. If you want to try them, open systemsettings5 → Window Management → KWin Scripts → Get New Scripts… and search for „tiling“.
bhuyanr
Registered Member
Thanks guys, appreciate the responses but i still don't think it fits my use case. When i choose a virtual desktop or activity it changes the space in all the monitors. What i originally wanted was to assign virtual desktops to each monitor (so when i select a desktop it switches the space only on that monitor). I am able to do with other WMs. I guess this feature will have to be request to the dev :-).