This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

LibreOffice programs split up and overlap in dual monitor

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
oguzkarayemis
Registered Member
Posts
10
Karma
0
Hello everyone, I have a very odd glitch in my Kubuntu 20.04. Whenever I connect my 1920x1080 screen to my laptop (which has a hdpi screen) in "extend to" mode and I start for exemple LibreOffice Writer or another Libreoffice program in primary screen, this leads Writer's appearance to be splitted and overlapped itself. And it's happen only when Nvidia selected in prime. When Intel selected there is no problem. What is the problem and how can I fix this? Thank you.

Here some information about my system:
Code: Select all
inxi -SMGxx
System:    Host: workingmonster Kernel: 5.4.0-48-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.3.0 Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.18.5
           tk: Qt 5.12.8 wm: kwin_x11 dm: SDDM Distro: Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS (Focal Fossa)
Machine:   Type: Laptop System: ASUSTeK product: UX310UQK v: 1.0 serial: <superuser/root required>
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: UX310UQK v: 1.0 serial: <superuser/root required> UEFI: American Megatrends v: UX310UQK.311
           date: 04/18/2019
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel HD Graphics 620 vendor: ASUSTeK driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 chip ID: 8086:5916
           Device-2: NVIDIA GM108M [GeForce 940MX] vendor: ASUSTeK driver: N/A bus ID: 01:00.0 chip ID: 10de:134d
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.8 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa compositor: kwin_x11
           resolution: 3200x1800~60Hz, 1920x1080~60Hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa Intel HD Graphics 620 (KBL GT2) v: 4.6 Mesa 20.0.8 direct render: Yes

Code: Select all
glxinfo | grep render
direct rendering: Yes
    GLX_MESA_multithread_makecurrent, GLX_MESA_query_renderer,
    GLX_MESA_query_renderer, GLX_MESA_swap_control, GLX_OML_swap_method,
Extended renderer info (GLX_MESA_query_renderer):
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa Intel(R) HD Graphics 620 (KBL GT2)
    GL_ARB_conditional_render_inverted, GL_ARB_conservative_depth,
    GL_NV_conditional_render, GL_NV_depth_clamp,
    GL_ARB_conditional_render_inverted, GL_ARB_conservative_depth,
    GL_NV_compute_shader_derivatives, GL_NV_conditional_render,
    GL_EXT_render_snorm, GL_EXT_robustness, GL_EXT_sRGB_write_control,
    GL_NV_conditional_render, GL_NV_draw_buffers, GL_NV_fbo_color_attachments,
    GL_OES_element_index_uint, GL_OES_fbo_render_mipmap,

Code: Select all
spci | egrep 'VGA|3D|Display'
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation HD Graphics 620 (rev 02)
01:00.0 3D controller: NVIDIA Corporation GM108M [GeForce 940MX] (rev a2)


Image
User avatar
Mamarok
Manager
Posts
6071
Karma
16
OS
LibreOffice is a GTK application, what are your settings in System Settings -> Appearance -> Application Style?


Running Kubuntu 22.10 with Plasma 5.26.3, Frameworks 5.100.0, Qt 5.15.6, kernel 5.19.0-23 on Ryzen 5 4600H, AMD Renoir, X11
FWIW: it's always useful to state the exact Plasma version (+ distribution) when asking questions, makes it easier to help ...
oguzkarayemis
Registered Member
Posts
10
Karma
0
User avatar
Mamarok
Manager
Posts
6071
Karma
16
OS
Sorry, misread your first post. I bet the problem is NVIDIA, which driver do you use? The proprietary drivers in particular are problematic on Linux, blame the manufacturer for this.


Running Kubuntu 22.10 with Plasma 5.26.3, Frameworks 5.100.0, Qt 5.15.6, kernel 5.19.0-23 on Ryzen 5 4600H, AMD Renoir, X11
FWIW: it's always useful to state the exact Plasma version (+ distribution) when asking questions, makes it easier to help ...
oguzkarayemis
Registered Member
Posts
10
Karma
0
I'm using the proprietary driver version 455. But It happens with 450 too.
User avatar
Mamarok
Manager
Posts
6071
Karma
16
OS
tried the nouveau drivers?


Running Kubuntu 22.10 with Plasma 5.26.3, Frameworks 5.100.0, Qt 5.15.6, kernel 5.19.0-23 on Ryzen 5 4600H, AMD Renoir, X11
FWIW: it's always useful to state the exact Plasma version (+ distribution) when asking questions, makes it easier to help ...
oguzkarayemis
Registered Member
Posts
10
Karma
0
I'm sorry for late reply. No, I didn't try, but I really hope there is a workaround with the proprietary driver. Because I don't wanna lose its benefits.
koffeinfriedhof
Registered Member
Posts
608
Karma
4
OS
Hello!

Do you have a xorg.conf generated via nvidia-settings? If so, please post it here in codeblocks so we can see what might cause the issue.
oguzkarayemis
Registered Member
Posts
10
Karma
0
Hello!
It seems that I don't have one. How can I generate?
koffeinfriedhof
Registered Member
Posts
608
Karma
4
OS
Startup `nvidia-settings`, set the things up like they should be and save it. This will trigger the policy kit to pop up, as for your password and stores the xorg.conf in the system wide /etc-Folder.
oguzkarayemis
Registered Member
Posts
10
Karma
0
Hello again,
I think I made it:

Code: Select all
# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 455.23.04

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

koffeinfriedhof
Registered Member
Posts
608
Karma
4
OS
There is only one Screen/Monitor mentioned. Do you have the second one connected to your nvidia card and it is not recognized? Or is it connected to the intel one? (Thats the weird thing with multiple cards…)
oguzkarayemis
Registered Member
Posts
10
Karma
0
When I generated xorg.conf my second monitor was connected and running along the laptop's monitor. I don't think it's connected to intel. How can I see whether the stiuation is this?
oguzkarayemis
Registered Member
Posts
10
Karma
0
I think this shot is more acquired and maybe this time the real problem shows itself: in xorg.conf file, there is a one giant monitor actually made up from adding two actual monitors each other. Indeed, I use a 1920X1080 FHD external monitor + 3200x1800 internal (laptop) monitor, but turns out that for nvidia or xserver I have just one 5685x1800 monitor.

Also I must mention, whenever I generate a xorg.config file, after reboot xorg session doesn't start. In order to get a display, I have to delete xorg.conf and reboot again (or "prime-select intel") in the bash panel.

Code: Select all
# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings:  version 440.82


Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 940MX"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "UseDisplayDevice" "none"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Virtual     5685 1800
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

koffeinfriedhof
Registered Member
Posts
608
Karma
4
OS
The screen-size is correct if you enhance your screen and not mirror the display. I was just missing the second monitor as output device, as you are using xinerama which should look like
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
→ Screen 1 " Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0" ←
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection


What does `xrandr -q` say?


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]