This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Resolution in wayland

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
User avatar
hornetster
Registered Member
Posts
87
Karma
0
OS

Resolution in wayland

Sat Apr 23, 2022 9:52 am
Operating System: openSUSE Tumbleweed 20220415
KDE Plasma Version: 5.24.4
KDE Frameworks Version: 5.93.0
Qt Version: 5.15.2
Kernel Version: 5.17.3-1-default (64-bit)
Graphics Platform: Wayland
Processors: 4 × Intel® Core™ i5-4590 CPU @ 3.30GHz
Memory: 15.5 GiB of RAM
Graphics Processor: Mesa Intel® HD Graphics 4600

Trying to change the resolution for my screen to 2560x1080.
Can find some info on changing for the boot manager (yes, fixed that), and for changing for anything <1920x1080, but can't find anywhere, where to change for >1920x1080.
Have been running successfully on xorg, but thought I would give Wayland a go (particularly as screensaver/screen timeout is not currently working in xorg, and works fine in wayland!!)
This all seems to work fine in Ubuntu....??

Thanks.
koffeinfriedhof
Registered Member
Posts
608
Karma
4
OS

Re: Resolution in wayland

Sat Apr 23, 2022 11:21 am
HI!

You can have a look at /sys/class/drm/card*/card*/{modes,edid}. As a minor example:
Code: Select all
user@host[~]› cat /sys/class/drm/card0/card0-eDP-1/modes
3840x2400

Assuming you want to add 3840x2400 at 60Hz you can change your kernel-commandline to
Code: Select all
quiet video=eDP-1:3840x2400@60
where DP-1 is the connection type (HDMI, DP,…)

You should respect your monitors default resolution to avoid damage and test your kernel setting temporary. For grub and bootctl you can hit 'e' on selection and change the command line on the fly.

If this works the mode should be present in any gui settings too.
User avatar
hornetster
Registered Member
Posts
87
Karma
0
OS

Re: Resolution in wayland

Sat Apr 23, 2022 12:17 pm
koffeinfriedhof wrote:HI!

You can have a look at /sys/class/drm/card*/card*/{modes,edid}. As a minor example:
Code: Select all
user@host[~]› cat /sys/class/drm/card0/card0-eDP-1/modes
3840x2400

Assuming you want to add 3840x2400 at 60Hz you can change your kernel-commandline to
Code: Select all
quiet video=eDP-1:3840x2400@60
where DP-1 is the connection type (HDMI, DP,…)

You should respect your monitors default resolution to avoid damage and test your kernel setting temporary. For grub and bootctl you can hit 'e' on selection and change the command line on the fly.

If this works the mode should be present in any gui settings too.


Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately, not an expert at this, but am trying to work through...
How do I determine what my current display is? ie card0-DP-X/card0-HDMI-A-X, etc?
eg, currently my card0-HDMI-A-1 (assuming this is my default), max's out at 1920x1080...
"you can change your kernel-commandline to" where do I do this? Grub? Believe I have already done this, made no change...?
So trying to change to 2560x1080, default/grub contains:
Code: Select all
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="splash=silent mitigations=auto quiet video=HDMI-A-1:2560x1080@60"
koffeinfriedhof
Registered Member
Posts
608
Karma
4
OS

Re: Resolution in wayland

Sat Apr 23, 2022 2:18 pm
The command line looks fine, but it can be that mitigations=auto overrides the resolution setting. As already mentioned, I'd try it out first before writing it into the command line. Just hit 'e' in the grub menu to edit the current command line.

Does your monitor support this resolution? You cannot force every combination. HDMI also is sometimes restricted to 1920x1200@60Hz, depending on the graphics card. I didn't find yours in ArchWiki:Intel Graphics, but perhaps the kscreen-doctor helps:
Code: Select all
kscreen-doctor output.1.mode.2560x1080

where output.1 is the output found using `kscreen-doctor -o`
User avatar
hornetster
Registered Member
Posts
87
Karma
0
OS

Re: Resolution in wayland

Sun Apr 24, 2022 12:11 am
koffeinfriedhof wrote:The command line looks fine, but it can be that mitigations=auto overrides the resolution setting. As already mentioned, I'd try it out first before writing it into the command line. Just hit 'e' in the grub menu to edit the current command line.

Does your monitor support this resolution? You cannot force every combination. HDMI also is sometimes restricted to 1920x1200@60Hz, depending on the graphics card. I didn't find yours in ArchWiki:Intel Graphics, but perhaps the kscreen-doctor helps:
Code: Select all
kscreen-doctor output.1.mode.2560x1080

where output.1 is the output found using `kscreen-doctor -o`


Thanks for the reply - very helpful, giving me an idea of where to go!
But...
Code: Select all
john@boss:~> kscreen-doctor -o                           
Output: 1 LG Electronics LG HDR WFHD/512509 enabled connected primary HDMI Modes: 0:1920x1080@60 1:1920x1080@60 2:1920x1080@50 3:1680x1050@60 4:1600x900@60 5:1280x1024@75 6:1280x1024@60 7:1280x800@60 8:1152x864@75 9:1280x720@60 10:1280x720@60 11:1280x720@60 12:1280x720@50 13:1024x768@75 14:1024x768@60 15:832x624@75 16:800x600@75 17:800x600@60 18:720x576@50 19:720x480@60 20:720x480@60 21:640x480@75 22:640x480@60 23:640x480@60 24:640x480@60 25:1920x1080@60*! Geometry: 0,0 1920x1080 Scale: 1 Rotation: 1 Overscan: 0 Vrr: incapable RgbRange: Automatic primary
john@boss:~> kscreen-doctor output.1.mode.2560x1080
Output mode 2560x1080 not found.


so, kscreen-doctor apparently thinks my monitor does not support 2560x1080 natively? (https://www.lg.com/au/it-monitors/lg-29WL500-B)
2560x1080, works fine in X (with a bit of xrandr fiddling), and also works fine in Ubuntu (with Wayland), Windows10, and several other distros (perhaps with a bit of xrandr goodness...) - same card (Vendor ID: GenuineIntel Model name: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4590 CPU @ 3.30GHz), same hdmi cable.
Just tried booting and removing the mitigations=auto - still 1920x1080.
Any other suggestions welcome!! ;)
koffeinfriedhof
Registered Member
Posts
608
Karma
4
OS

Re: Resolution in wayland

Sun Apr 24, 2022 7:00 am
I found an arch forums topic with a wrong edid. Perhaps you can follow this one: Kwin wayland kscreen selecting incorrect resolution refresh rate

He is manipulating the (wrong) edid. Never did this myself, so you're on your own ;)
User avatar
hornetster
Registered Member
Posts
87
Karma
0
OS

Re: Resolution in wayland

Sun Jul 10, 2022 11:01 am
Anyone had any joy in setting a higher resolution, while using Wayland, in Plasma, in Tumbleweed?


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], daret, Google [Bot], sandyvee, Sogou [Bot]